Coincidences

I love coincidences. I just got back Monday from New York City where I took a picture of an art deco store front on 5th Ave.  Since arriving home, I’ve begun reading Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald
and she (well, actually Therese Anne Fowler writing as Zelda) talks in Part 2 of the novel about her arrival in NYC, taking a cab to St. Patrick’s Cathedral to get married, (which I also took a picture of), and then walking with her new husband down 5th Ave. to Scribner’s store to see the display of his newly published book, This Side of Paradise. What does it say in my picture of the Sephora store? Right over the storefront it says: Charles Scribner & Sons! Isn’t that funny?

Charles Scribner & Sons

Charles Scribner & Sons

Enjoying the book immensely; will write about it as soon as I’m finished. I also love it when reading one book makes you want to read others that are related in some way to the text in hand.  In my 20s, I read a book about Nicholas and Alexandra of Russia which led me to one about the Kaiser, followed by one about Rasputin, and another about Alexandra’s background and all the royal cousins throughout Europe.  “Z” is inspiring me to read F. Scott Fitzgerald.  I’ve seen the movie (2 of the 4 different versions — 1974, 2013), The Great Gatsby, but have never read the book.  So I’m getting that now along with The Short Stories of F. Scott Fitzgerald: A New Collection.  A glance down the table of contents suggests it has most if not all of his stories that were sold to The Saturday Evening Post, The Smart Set, Metropolitan Magazine, The American Mercury, Red Book, and later organized into various collections.  Some of these were actually written by Zelda but published under his name to make them “more acceptable” to magazine publishers.  Should make for fascinating reading.
         

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

