What Intrigues You?

Posted on Pinterest

Posted on Pinterest

What makes you decide a book is for you?  There’s an old adage:  don’t judge a book by it’s cover.  None-the-less, we do that all the time.  I saw this book cover posted on Pinterest and before I even read the caption I knew it was a book I wanted to read.  The word “heretic” in the title conjures up all kinds of exciting, suspenseful ideas.  A heretic in what sense of the word?  Christian religion?  Muslim religion?  The dress of the young girl is suggestive of Muslim dress.  Then I went to the caption; it says it’s historical fiction about a “different prospective of the Salem Witch trials”.  That’s a bit of a surprise.  But an interesting one.  When I look at the face of the girl in the picture, she seems to have a haunted look.  More questions come to mind.  How old is she?  What are the circumstances of her heretical mother?  How will the girl manage if the mother is put to death?  What time period does the story take place?  When were the Salem witch trials, anyway?  Will anyone in the community befriend this girl?  Will the girl be suspected of being a witch?  Is the girl a witch?  Was the mother really a witch?  Can we possibly learn anything new about the Salem Witch Trials?  My imagination is captured.

I looked it up online.  It’s available in ebook, paperback, and hard cover.  I’m more into paperbacks now — hardcovers are too difficult to hold up and read in bed and they hurt more when I doze off and drop them on my face.  I already spend too much time in front of the screen so I prefer to do my reading from a hard copy.  I’m not familiar with the author, Kathleen Kent, but this is not her first book.  The reviews look pretty good.  I would read it even if they weren’t but the decision to read has already been made; I was just curious. The only question is whether to buy it right now or wait until I’ve finished the umpteen books stacked in 3 different piles around my room.

What about a book pulls you in like a magnet and makes you choose a it for your next read?  Do you read in bed? from a screen?  Who will start the discussion?

The Heretic’s Daughter: A Novel

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

