Theatre Tonight!

A friend has invited me to the theatre tonight to see a C.S.Lewis (more than 27,000 books by or about him on Amazon) story brought to life:  The Great Divorce.

Most of us are familiar, I think, with Lewis’ Narnia series which we tend to think of as for children but are a great read for adults as well:  they’re so rich in vocabulary and depth of meaning.  The popular Christian allegories of which several have now been made into movies, are probably his best known works.  I’m also familiar with his The Screwtape Letters where a senior devil is giving advice to a junior or novice devil on how to ensnare Christians.  A great example of backwards psychology.

The Great Divorce is new to me.  I’ve picked it up in a Kindle edition but have no real hope of finishing it before showtime tonight so I also downloaded a free pdf study guide which has laid out the plot for me.  I’m now very intrigued as to how they’ll depict the thought and action involved in this.  Almost all of the recent live and live broadcast productions I’ve seen this past year have used projected images for scenery and minimal actual props and sets so I’m anxious to see what this group does.  The production is being presented by Ninth Hour Theatre Company, a Christian repertory group which is doing all C.S.Lewis this year.  I’ve heard lots of great things about them.  I’ll report back about this play later.  In the meantime, if you’re not familiar with some of C.S.Lewis’ works or you have one on the shelf you haven’t looked at for awhile, this might be the perfect time to get into it.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Christian, Christian Book, Plays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

