Something Else Blogs are Good For

Several months back I went with a friend to see the movie, “The Book Thief“.  I had read the book by Markus Zusak and was interested in seeing if the movie lived up to the book.  I had really enjoyed the book — in many ways sad and poignant but also hopeful about the human spirit.  It is a truly original story set during World War II in Nazi Germany.  Books were being burned everywhere but here was a young orphan girl who clung to hers for dear life.  And she wanted more.  The movie, as always, differed from the book but not in any way that detracted from the original story.  In the book, Death is the narrator, but in the movie you didn’t get any real sense of that.  I enjoyed the movie although I think I preferred the book.

When we were leaving the theatre, my friend said she hadn’t read the book so I offered to loan it to her.  Well, as the expression goes, I looked high and low for it.  I looked through my living room bookshelves and through the various shelves in my back room where my TV is and where I spend most of my time.  I looked through boxes of books I had brought home from school when I retired.  Couldn’t find it.  OK.  I was trying too hard, I thought.  I let it sit for a week or so.  Started over, more methodically this time.  I was sure I had bought the book and just as sure I hadn’t loaned it to anyone.  Finally, I had to tell my friend that I had no idea where it was.

Last week I was staring at my blog page thinking about my next sentence and I glanced at the bookshelf that is my header (or Featured Image as it says at the bottom of the page).  I couldn’t believe my eyes.  There, 3 books to the left of Lady Macbeth, was my copy of The Book Thief.  I hurried out to the living room to check the shelf and, sure enough, there it was.  I knew it had to be there.  Jane, if you still want to borrow it, I have it now!  So in addition to being a great place to find out about books, movies, theatre, and magazines, a blog can also be good for finding things you know you have!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

