The Kalahari Biker Rides On

Recently I wrote about 2 bloggers I follow whose cultures are quite different from mine and how much I enjoy reading what they write. Today for my Sunday Reblog I’m going to share a post by Amos van der Merwe who lives in South Africa.  His blog is called Rolbos and The Kalahari Biker Rides On was posted earlier this week and is quite the story. Frankly, I found the ending tantalizingly dark; it left me rather uneasy. See what you think.

Rolbos ©

IMG_2398What made Servaas turn off the main road to Springbok? Was it his tired hips or the arthritic fingers on the throttle? Or perhaps some hidden spiritual instinct that told him to do so? One cannot always explain these things – we all do something at times and then try to tell ourselves some intuition guided us to do so. 

Oh, he’ll tell you it was the sign at the open gate, but  – as obvious as it may seem – that’s not true. He decided to turn off long before he saw the gate. The solitary little rondawel next to the big Bluegum tree and the slowly-turning windpump made a pretty picture in the emptiness of the barren veld around it. And yes, he was tired. His aching backside – not used to the uncomfortable seat – demanded a bit of respite. But there was a tug, a desire…

View original post 1,021 more words

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

