The Secret Writer

One of the blogs I follow through Networked Blogs is called The Secret WriterCalum lives in the UK and works in health care but is a “secret writer”.  Well, actually, a not-so-secret writer. He has been writing seriously for the past several years and finds reading, writing and blogging a great way to chill out.

About once a month, he holds a contest for the linked followers of his blog and gives away a free book.  I was the lucky
winner in his August contest and now own a paperback copy of The Echoes of Love by Hannah Fielding. Fielding was born and raised in Egypt,  the granddaughter of feminist Egyptian writer Esther Fanous (a truly fascinating lady) and she has travelled extensively in Europe and studied French literature before settling in Kent with her British husband.

The Echoes of Love is a romance (not my usual comfort reading) that takes place in Venice, a city I feel drawn to and hope to visit sometime in the next year or so (there’s a dig in Tuscany I’d like to work on for a couple of weeks) and therefore am looking forward to getting into it as soon as I finish the two books I’m into right now.  I find the cover of The Echoes of Love intriguing.  Perhaps you will as well.  This is Fielding’s second novel; her first is called, Burning Embers.  Thanks again, Calum.

I’m currently reading A House in the Sky which I will tell you all about (well, not enough to spoil it) very soon.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, fiction, Romance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

