How to Kill One of Your Characters

Most of what I write online is reviews of books, movies, plays, and sometimes music. On occasion, I write opinions about magazine articles and events or even my rambling thoughts about coincidences and observations. Many of the blogs I follow, though, are by authors who are writing with inspiration, creating characters and plots that are entertaining or thrilling or full of adventure. One of these people is Jean Reinhardt who has written this delightful mindscape about one of the problems she has in her writing. I hope you enjoy my Sunday Reblog!

Jean Reinhardt

writing, characters death, novels,The problem with developing your characters and making them as realistic as possible is that when you have to kill one of them, you hesitate. I’m at a point in my latest book where I need to write a death scene for one of my favourite characters. This person has been with me throughout the first book and now, in the sequel, I must say goodbye. I’m not joking, it is such a difficult thing for me to do that I’m into another chapter and still haven’t done the dastardly deed. This has been going on for over a week and I have decided that this weekend it just HAS to happen. I know how, where and when to do it, but as crazy as this must seem, I keep putting it off. I even thought about scrapping the scene altogether but it’s a vital part of the story and…

View original post 146 more words

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How to Kill One of Your Characters

  1. Thank you so much for the reblog. It is 5.20 pm on a lovely sunny evening in Ireland and I have been writing for the past three hours and STILL haven’t written the death scene for my character. I’m now into a fresh chapter and about to take a break to make dinner. Fingers crossed that by the end of this day, I will be in mourning. 😦 or should that be 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

