Stargate

stargatemovie1I was late coming to the Stargate series on TV.  I came across it almost by accident one day when the series was well under way but I had been a MacGyver fan from way back and really liked Richard Dean Anderson, so I watched and became hooked.  I had never seen the movie or the pilot to the series.  A number of years ago, I bought the set and the original movie with Kurt Russell and had actually removed the cellophane but still had not watched any of it.  Last night, I decided the time had come.  I started at the beginning with the movie.

This is amazing photography and future technology for its time.  The way it takes ancient Egyptian symbols and connects the ancient past of earth with unknown worlds in the universe and the coded gates which connect them all is a really fun idea.  In the movie, Dr. Jackson (played by James Spader) is an expert on all things Egyptian and is the one who is able to crack the code that opens the gate.  They go through the stargate to a desert world where they discover humans working as slaves for beings they believe to be gods.  Their leader, who is actually a Goa’uld inhabiting a human body (I find the Goa’uld really disgusting but I guess that was the whole point), lives in a flying pyramid which has a kind of gate/transporter system of its own and an elaborate sarcophagus that has the ability to heal wounded humans, even bring them back to life.

StargateClip

Because Jackson is wearing a pendant with the Egyptian symbol of Ra on it, the people believe him to be a god as well.  Much of the suspense of this movie involves trying to uncover the code to enable the team to go back to earth but a lot is generated by Col. Jack O’Neil (Kurt Russell) whose mission, known only to him, is to destroy the gate on the far world and eliminate that access to earth.  Things get a little complicated when Sha’uri (pronounced sha ray; played by Mili Avital) and Jackson fall in love and marry.

The props are great — the gate, the weapons, the sarcophagus, the flying pyramid, and the life-like mastadon-like creature that drags Jackson across the desert to the mines where the people live and work — are all imaginative.  O’Neil was originally expected to stay behind after the team was sent back to earth but plans change as the “god” returns to destroy the aliens and prove that he is the only god.

I thoroughly enjoyed the Stargate movie and if you haven’t seen it, you should remedy that situation soon.  Enjoy the slideshow of scenes and props from the movie. * * * * *

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Drama, Movie, Opinion, science fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stargate

  1. mysm2000 says:

    Always good to meet another R. D. Anderson fan. I find the term “MacGyverism” still slips into my conversations.

    Like

  2. I’m a big Stargate fan too, Ms. M, and a fan of Richard Dean Anderson since the MacGyver days. Watched the entire Stargate series on Netflix and I was very sad when it ended. I’m always amazed as well, how TV writers manage to come up with ideas week after week and month after month for great shows. I wish authors could sit and brainstorm the way they do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

