Potpourri 1

imgresEvery Monday, Robert at 101 Books poses a question for his some 35,000 faithful followers.  Last Monday the question was, “What’s the last novel you read?”  It was really interesting to see what people were reading.  Many of them, like myself, said what they’d just finished and what they were currently reading.  Some were reading books that were somewhat disappointing; some were very excited about their novels.  I had just finished reading that book I won in a giveaway from The Secret Writer, The Echoes of Love by Hannah Fielding, which I really enjoyed because the characters were so interesting and the setting was Italy, mostly Venice where I’m so anxious to go someday in the hopefully not too distant future.

Anyway, I stated that I was currently reading Margaret Atwood’s The Blind Assassin.  It won the Booker in 2000.  Whether it’s just my state of mind or the busyness of this past week, I’ve been having a difficult time getting into it.  The construction is pretty neat and I like the way it’s punctuated by articles from Toronto newspapers (not positive but pretty sure the articles are fictitious) but I’m not following it.  I had to go back to the index to get a timeline because it seems to jump around a bit between generations of the characters, all of the same family.  Anyway, I’ve decided to leave it for a bit and as I’m off visiting my dad again (I try to go once a month for about a week), I’m into some comfort authors.

n150872I’ve begun the 13th Chronicle of Matthew Bartholomew, To Kill or Cure by Susanna Gregory.  I’ve also brought with me two rather intriguing finds — two authors new to me, one writing about a medieval  mystery obviously a series as it’s touted as a Crowner John Mystery:  The Elixir of Death (Bernard Knight); the other an ancient Roman adventure series called The Silver Eagle: (The Forgotten Legion Chronicles No. 2): In a cauldron of war and treachery, the men of the Forgotten Legion are fighting for their lives (Ben Kane).  I hope to report back on each of these within the next few weeks. In the meantime, I’ve also brought a Deborah Ellis book called Looks Like Daylight which is a collection of stories she has gathered from aboriginal teenagers across North America and I think I can dip into it regularly while reading other things.  I believe this may be the best way to do it because I think these stories are going to require some time to sink in and gel; they promise to be about unique human experiences from children who might otherwise by invisible in our society.  I don’t think there’s any way this book could disappoint.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Biography, Mystery, Opinion, Young People and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

