Twitter Inspired

I have never twittered.  I am not a twitterer.  I have never had any inclination to twitter.  I once thought that I would like to have a dog and a bird and I would call the former Woofer and the latter Tweeter but I have still never thought anything about twittering.  Until today.

Today I visited a blog site written by Wendy Anne Darling, author, narrator, illustrator.  I don’t know Wendy but she has visited my site and has been kind enough to make some nice comments and to begin following my blog.  Down the right-hand sidebar (in addition to some interesting articles fefae-shadowofthewindabout converting an ebook to a paperback and why one can’t do something until another unidentified something triggers a change that can’t be explained — I guess you have to read it for yourself) there is a photo from Bill McStowe called Old School Google that I guess has been . . .  retwittered?  I love this photo. (I’m not sure about copyright so I’m just going to link you to it; or, you can see it on Wendy’s link above.)  I was thinking that this photo might resemble The Cemetery of Forgotten Books in The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Safón which I wrote about recently.  I thought it would be interesting to follow Bill but alas, I would have to open an account.  I’m not ready to do that.  But I really like the photo.

I got thinking that maybe there are other photos out there that also might serve as images for The Cemetery of Forgotten Books so I started to Google around.  Some of them reminded me of other libraries I had seen or read about.  I remember watching the Sean Connery movie The Name of the Rose based on the book by Umberto Eco.  In the monastery there was an amazing library that was a maze.  It had a hidden entrance and a possessive librarian who didn’t want anyone else to go in.  So Connery and the young novice who was his assistant, sneak in at night and the only way they could find their way out of the library again was to unravel a woollen sweater and leave a trail to follow back.

the_cemetery_of_forgotten_book_by_ahermin-d4622xeThere was another book I remember of essays or short stories written by Jorge Luis Borges which includes his famous, “Library of Babel”, which had infinite shelves containing all the books that ever existed.  Here was another complicated library that set loose the imagination.  I think this picture by Deviantart might better describe it rather than the Cemetery.

One of the Margaret Truman mysteries that take place in Washington D.C. included the Library of Congress in great detail with all its security measures and vastness.  That could make one want to go and see it for oneself.  Although it is a real place, not a fictitious place, it can still fuel the imagination and spur enquiry.

I couldn’t find the story behind this photo/drawing which was originally on Tumblr and isn’t now but is on a page with a story about “The Problem with Bookstores” and it came up when I googled images for the Cemetery.  This, too, is a great image for Ruiz Zafón’s library.

I don’t know if it’s good to see how others interpret a description or if it’s better to have your own picture in your head from the same description.  There were quite a few really interesting pictures purporting to represent the Cemetery library.  The one down below looks downright dangerous.

284076f7705936ab0d484274aa0a2cb1This one is from a visual concept thesis project by Almudena Nagu of Alicante, Spain based entirely on Ruiz Zafón’s book.  You should check out all her pictures in her project; she does the bookstore, a Barcelona street, and the front door of the Cemetery as well as this photo of the inside.  What a great idea for her project!

Finally, Margie Martinez has a Pinterest board that is dedicated to Carlos Ruiz Zafón.  It has a lot of interesting pictures relating to him and his work.  This last picture I’m going to share is from her board and not, I think, so much an image of the Cemetery library as it is an interpretation of how books can inspire people to use, develop, and expand their imaginations.

My questions for you:

Do you like to see pictures of other people’s ideas of a work or do you prefer to have your own private image?

Do you know of another favourite book or story that has a cool and amazing library in it?

Is there a different setting in another book that intrigues you enough that you would like to find pictures that depict it?

Share your ideas.  And thanks, Wendy Anne Darling, for sparking my imagination with your blog!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Author, Blogger, fiction, Opinion, Photos, Trivia and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Twitter Inspired

  1. Pingback: Library Envy | Ms M's Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

