Potpourri 2

I just have to stop going past the book bin at Giant Tiger.  I shouldn’t patronize it anyway because of the way the books are all piled up lying flat.  It takes forever to go through just a small section to find something that interests me; they used to have them standing up properly and you could flip through.

I was there one day a couple of weeks ago and saw a Baldacci book but I wasn’t sure if I already had it.   (I’m terrible about keeping track; I have to carry lists with me in my purse.)  After determining that I didn’t have it, I went back and couldn’t find it.

I always come away with something though.  Their paperbacks are all $4.95 so it seems like such a bargain.  This time I picked up another Jean Plaidy.  (I haven’t read the last one I bought by her yet).  I also got an R.D. Wingfield Inspector Frost book.  (I loved the British TV series, A Touch of Frost.)  I also picked up 2 more of the Crowner John mysteries by Bernard Knight so you can assume my review of the 1st one I read will be a positive one.

While I was in the Hamilton/Ancaster area, I was in the Chapters store there.  In addition to picking up some magazines I also bought the latest Alice Hoffman book, The Museum of Extraordinary Things: A Novel.  Her book, The Dovekeepers, is in my top ten of all time reads.  I just loved it.  So I’m expecting great things from this newest offering.  The cover of this book is particularly haunting although different in my edition (shown here) from the one that shows up the most when you google images.  It is of the mermaid, the role the protagonist plays in her father’s Museum of Extraordinary Things.  And the quote on the dedication page from Walt Whitman’s Song of Myself:

I have heard what the talkers were talking, the talk of the beginning and the end.
But I do not talk of the beginning or the end.

is equally intriguing.  This book has pushed many other books in the piles around my chair down the pecking order of what gets read next.

However, I have promised a promising young author from Quebec, Agostino Scafidi, that I will read his book next.  His genre, paranormal fiction, isn’t usually my thing but the first chapters are intriguing so I’m already “into” it.  Watch for my review of Dreams, Fiction and Me.

Meanwhile, Goodreads keeps reminding me that I started reading Zelda Fitzgerald‘s Save Me the Waltz on July 17th (this year, though).  I vaguely remember getting sidetracked when I was almost finished it and then forgot about it as I got caught up in one great book after another so I’ve rescued it from beneath several books I’ve finished but haven’t found room on my shelves for yet and I’ve promised myself I’ll get back to it ASAP.

With luck (and a fair bit of work), tomorrow’s blog will be the review of  The Elixir of Death by Knight.  I’ve finished reading it and have started writing the review in my head.  Until tomorrow . . .

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, fiction, Mystery, Opinion, Trivia and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

