Frank Lloyd Wright Fans Only

In September 2013, I went on a road trip to Colorado and left early enough to spend two and a half days in Oak Park, Illinois, a suburb of Chicago.  Oak Park is where American architect Frank Lloyd Wright began his career and made his home.  I was able to book into a quaint hotel called The Write Inn (I don’t know why it isn’t called the Wright Inn, under the circumstances) in the heart TheWrightInn2013-09-07of Oak Park about four blocks away from the Wright Home and Studio which is situated on the corner of Chicago and Forest Avenues.  Because I crossed a time zone on my drive, I gained an hour which gave me just enough time to check in, walk to the Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio, and take the walking tour before it started to rain.

FLW Gift Shop with back of studio at the right.

FLW Gift Shop with back of studio at the right.

I rented the tape and headset and set off, snapping pictures as I went and trying to stick to the map so that I would later be able to identify all the houses where I took pictures.  Alas, the best laid plans.  I had trouble with my camera.  My umbrella kept getting in the way.  It did start to rain in earnest.  I was getting a bit tired after my 6 hour drive.  There were a number of places I skipped taking pictures of because of the camera problem.  With only 2 1/2 days, I didn’t get back to fill in the gaps.  I was away for 5 weeks and by the time I got home I didn’t know which photos were of what houses.

The Arthur Heurtley House, 318 Forest Ave., Oak Park.

The Arthur Heurtley House, 318 Forest Ave., Oak Park.

Enter the Frank Lloyd Wright Field Guide (which includes all United States and International sites).  What a fabulous book — full of lots of facts, maps, photos, and trivia that will delight any FLW fan!

Today I finally sat down with my Field Guide, my laptop, and opened my folder and sorted all the photos I took that day 15 months ago and identified them all and loaded them up to Pinterest.  Whew!!  A task well done.  I’m including a few of them here but am going to include them on a new page called (drum roll please!), FLW Photo Album.

Edward R. Hills House, 313 Forest Ave., Oak Park, Ill.

Edward R. Hills House, 313 Forest Ave., Oak Park, Ill.

I hope FLW fans will enjoy my pictures and if there’s one of those on your Christmas gift list, you might want to think about getting the Field Guide for him or her as a special surprise for that special morning.  Or, you can check out other fabulous FLW books that I recommended on an earlier post.  There are literally hundreds of books about him and another hundred by him.  Plus, you can order all kinds of memorabilia, books, design copies, jewellry directly from the FLW Home and Studio, Fallingwater, or even the Guggenheim, online.    Cheers!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Opinion, Photo Book and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

