Eclectic Reader Challenge 2015

eclecticreader15OK.  I’ve officially entered!  I’ve only been doing this blog since last May and while my readership is growing slowly, I am seeing steady improvements in how I’m doing and am quite pleased.  Yesterday my “hits” hit 2,000 and growing and the list of countries from which people are checking out my blog is quite long.  I only miss the odd day in posting (usually on days when I’m travelling solo by car and can’t read or write along the way) and I’m making headway through my book piles and spicing things up with movie and magazine reviews.  I think I’m ready to take on Book’d Out’s Eclectic Reader Challenge 2015.

What I have to do is read and post reviews of 12 books (one per month) using each of the categories in the challenge.  I’m copying them here for your perusal.

Categories

  1. Retellings (of fairytale, legends or myth)
  2.  A book set in a country starting with the letter S (eg. Sweden, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Slovakia)
  3.  PI Crime (fiction featuring a private investigator)
  4.  A novel published before you were born
  5. Contemporary romance
  6. Fiction for foodies (fiction featuring food/food related business)
  7. Microhistory (Non Fiction)
  8. Science Fiction set in space
  9. Sports (Fiction or Non fiction)
  10. Featuring diversity
  11. Epistolary Fiction (fiction written in the format of letters/emails/diary entries)
  12. Middle Grade/YA Adventure

Some of these will definitely be outside my comfort range which is, I gather, the point of the challenge.

Now, Shelley Rae has already made a list of what she will be reading and while I have a few ideas, I think I’ll choose my books as I go.  For complete details, visit this link on Shelley Rae’s site.  I hope you will Join the challenge!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Blogger, Challenge, Opinion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eclectic Reader Challenge 2015

  1. Welcome to the challenge Lorraine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

