Potpourri 3

i1035 FW1.1Just over a week ago, Robert of 101 Books asked his followers about their bookshelf strategies.  You know, do you separate them by hardcovers and paperbacks?  Do you alphabetize them?  Are they all in one particular place in your home?  That sort of thing.  I didn’t respond on his blog but I guess it planted a seed.  While I have a large set of bookshelves in my living room that is well organized and mostly books I’ve read, my “tech room” in the back is a different story.  Between Robert’s question and the fact that I’ve signed up for the Eclectic Reader Challenge, 2015, it set me going through my various piles of books on the floor of my tech room where I spend most of my time.  I thought I should see what I already have on my mental “to read” list and see if there were some I could apply to the Challenge.

I have a little 6-block organizer that I bought a while ago from Canadian Tire and I lay it on its side so it’s only two blocks high.  I already had books in the middle two sections but on top I had a pile (yes, another one) of books and a budgie playground that my budgie doesn’t really bother with (because he already has so many toys and playgrounds).

NewBookArrangementSo to start, I moved the playground off to a corner where it won’t be in the way.  Then I took my boxed set (still sealed in plastic) of the Game of Thrones and placed it at the left end of the organizer and took my new Murder She Wrote boxed DVD set and placed it at the other end.  Then I gathered up all the books from each pile that I felt should be near the top of my “to read” list, plus a couple that I got distracted from as my blog progressed.

I think the Bratt Farar book by Josephine Tey will work for the book written before I was born.  As for the fiction for foodies category, I think I’ll get one of the recent Joanne Fluke mysteries that will be out in paperback in January.  I have bought but AlexRiderSetnot yet read the book Obasan by Joy Kogawa that I’ve read so much about and featured in a recent post here, will work for the diversity slot.  One selection must be from a country beginning with the letter S and I’ve been thinking about getting a book by Rolbos (whose blog I enjoy so much) and since he lives in South Africa, that will cover that spot.  As far as Middle Grade/YA fiction, I have a boxed set of Horowitz novels (on my floor) begging to be read.  That makes 5 areas covered of the twelve.

I think the most difficult area for me will be Science Fiction set in space.  While I have enjoyed watching Star Trek, Deep Space Nine, and Stargate SG1 on the big screen, I tend not to read much in the way of science fiction, in space or otherwise.  (Although, it may be interesting to note that much of what was science fiction 50 years ago is pretty commonplace today.)  So if anyone out there can recommend a really good (not too weird, please) sci-fi book that takes place in space, I’d appreciate hearing from you.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Challenge, Opinion, science fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

