Potpourri 4

Well, I finished reading A Bloody Field by Shrewsbury by Dame Edith Pargeter last night and I’ll be talking more about it early next week.  Suffice it to say, it was amazing, and I’m resolved to add yet another book to my lengthening list of “to read”, The Brothers of Gwynedd.  Chronologically, it precedes the one I just read and its history is referred to quite often in A Bloody Field as both are about the Welsh dream of having a united Wales independent of England.  For anyone who loves reading incredibly well-written prose, you can’t go wrong with Edith Pargeter.

I’m off tonight to see the new movie by director Ridley Scott, Exodus: Gods and Kings.  Some critics have complained that it is a movie too long (154 min.) but Interstellar was about the same length and I sat through it twice.  (Yes, I went back and saw it in iMax and it was amazing!!  Only thing was, the sound was really loud — so much so that when the engines were roaring on the screen, your seat was throbbing as if you were onboard!)  I recently purchased Kingdom of Heaven, also by Scott, and since I enjoyed it very much, I’m looking forward to this latest of his.

Just this week I reached 30 subscribers for this blog, so I am eligible to sign up to read for a particular group of publishers online.  I’m very excited as this has been a goal of mine ever since I came across their website.  It’s called Booklookbloggers and their lists contain a wide range of genres under the banner of Christian books.  I’ve already selected my first ebook, Lean On Me: Finding Intentional, Vulnerable, and Consistent Community by Anne Marie Miller.  It is described as the author’s narrative about taking a “transforming journey of evaluating what community truly meant and looked like in her life”.  I sense that there will be a lot to learn from her story and I’m really anxious to get into it, so I’ll be starting it today.

I haven’t forgotten about the collection of stories from aboriginal teens compiled by Deborah Ellis, Looks Like Daylight.  I’ve read several of them already and will continue to read them sporadically as I’m reading novels.  The ones I’ve read so far are quite varied and yet, with a thread of hope, sometimes cautious, sometimes radiant, throughout. If there’s a teenager in your home who likes to learn about “how the other half lives”, these stories will certainly open their eyes and maybe even shake them up a bit, to learn about inequity right here in North America.

Something else I hope to comment on before Christmas is a set of 4 Alfred Hitchcock movies.  I’ve watched two of them already and commented on one but will watch the last two this week and comment on the set.   (I always love watching for his cameo appearance which he did in every one of his movies.  Lots of fun amid the suspense.)  More to come.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Author, Blogger, Christian, Director, Historical Fiction, Movie, Musings, Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

