DooWop, Jersey Style

I was reading in one of the local papers about the best movies of 2014. A few of them I’d never heard of, a couple I hadn’t wanted to see, and one won’t be released until 2015. Go figure! For my money, one of the best movies for just plain entertainment was Jersey Boys. I saw it twice at the show and bought the movie as soon as it came out. Here’s what I wrote when I first saw it:

Ms M's Bookshelf

The other afternoon I joined the mostly over-60 group at the theatre to see Clint Eastwood’s production, Jersey Boys, based on the Broadway hit of the same name, the story and music of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons.  Everyone was tapping their toes and mouthing the words to all their great hits from the 60s and reminiscing, watching the combs come out of the back pockets, the long cadi convertibles with fins, American Bandstand, and the Ed Sullivan Show.

For those unfamiliar with the group’s background, 3 of the 4 original Four Seasons group were from Belleville, New Jersey (just outside of Newark) and 2 of them had done time for petty crimes — break & enter, robbery, auto theft, etc.  Frankie had a protector in a Jersey crime boss named Gyp DeCarlo (played by Christopher Walken).  But it wasn’t until the group hooked up with

View original post 478 more words

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Movie, Music, Musicals, Opinion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

