Reading Challenges

I’ve been writing this blog for eight months but I’m still learning new things every day.  I recently discovered that Shelly Rae at Book’d Out was hosting a reading challenge called The Eclectic Reader Challenge, 2015.  I wasn’t aware they had such things online and thought it a rather exciting idea.  I signed up for it immediately as I could see that it would encourage me to broaden my reading tastes and discover new authors.  I have a partial list planned out, I’ve added the badge to my sidebar, and I’m looking forward to doing my first review for this challenge.

I started to wonder about hosting my own challenge based on a recent post of mine called My Top Ten Mystery Series which turned out to be a baker’s dozen (13).  Shelly Rae is doing hers through a LinkyTool which seems to be a slick organizing tool but I’ve looked into it and, for a variety of reasons, have dismissed it as a way of doing mine.  I tried to find out how Australian Women Writers Challenge works theirs but couldn’t do it without actually signing up.  I ended up signing up for the Goodreads Challenge but haven’t discovered how they’re organizing their sign-up and record keeping.  (I’m waiting for my badge for it; I’ve signed up to read 100 books.)  I expect that since their site is already a rather huge data base, it will simply be an extension of what currently exists.  Now I’m thinking that, since it’s already January 5th, I’ve run out of time so will maybe wait and see how things go in the ones in which I’m participating, then perhaps host my own next year.

In the meantime, I thought perhaps you would share your reading goals for 2015 here on my post.  I’ve created a short, easy poll for you and I’m really interested in getting your feedback and learning what goals other “readaholics” are setting for themselves.  It’s set to collect responses for a week only, so please vote and maybe add a comment before you click away.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Blogger, Challenge, Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reading Challenges

  1. I’m glad you decided to join the challenge!
    On the AWW we used to just use google forms for sign ups etc which is what many do (we have our own setup now) . You might want to check out novel challenge.blogspot.com and checkout other existing blog challenges too

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

