Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries

Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries is based on a series of 18 crime books written by Australian author, Kerry Greenwood and is a production of Australia’s ABC1.  Since I’ve started following 2 bloggers from Australia, I’ve become more interested in learning about their culture.  I’d been thinking about purchasing one or more of the books they’ve reviewed on their websites (I have so many sitting around waiting to be read I can’t quite justify it), when I came across Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries online at such a reasonable price I couldn’t resist.  Since returning from visiting my family over Christmas, I’ve been able to watch all 13 episodes of the 1st season and the special features included with it.  I’m hooked!

The Honourable Miss Phryne (pronounced fry-nee) Fisher (played by the very popular Australian actress Essie Davis) is a wealthy and intrepid detective whose style is that of a 1920’s flapper.  She drives a 1924 Hispano-Suiza, flies an airplane, carries a pearl-handled pistol in her purse, and usually has a stiletto in her garter.  The episodes involve her in many social issues and cultures of the times, jazz clubs, blackmail, gambling, abortions, dock strikes, chinatown, and opium dens for a start.  She seems to attract trouble, often being the one to call the police, who arrive shortly, usually in the person of the handsome Detective Inspector, Jack Robinson (Nathan Page), with his trusty constable, Hugh Collins (Hugo Johnstone-Burt).

miss_fisher_s_murder_mysteries_a_night_on_the_town_by_sqbr-d5nciyeThe intrepid Miss Fisher uses her considerable charms to learn what DI Robinson can’t learn through normal police procedures and, while he tries to keep her at arms length from investigations, she more often than not is able to learn what she needs to know from Constable Collins who has a crush on Phryne’s maid, Dot.

I love the art deco sets and costumes and the jazz music as much as I love the great plots that continually baffle the police until Phryne points them in the right direction.

This particular set of DVDs presents nine special features that include interviews with the cast, a tour of the set, an in-depth look at the costumes and the lengths they go to to make sure every cast member, including all the extras, are dressed in accurate reproductions right down to the feathers and buckles.  My favourite is the up-close examinations of the vehicles used in the production; fabulous cars.  This series is a real winner.  Can’t wait to get the 2nd season. * * * * *

Don’t forget to answer the poll in the sidebar.  Two clicks and you’re done.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Actor, Adult Book, Art Deco, Made for TV, Mystery, Opinion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries

  1. Pingback: Potpourri 28 | Ms M's Bookshelf

  2. Pingback: Murder on the Ballarat Train by Kerry Greenwood | Ms M's Bookshelf

  3. I only recently binge watched the series (on Netflix) and loved it. Oddly enough I wasn’t really a fan of Greenwood’s books though, I really like her Corinna Chapman series.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      I haven’t read any of her books yet, but I’d like to read at least the 1st in the Miss Fisher series. I’ll take a look at the Corinna Chapman series, too. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

