Young Authors: Highland Park Presents

HighlandParkPresentsThis is a delightful collection of prose and poetry written by 5th graders at Highland Park School and published online by their teacher, Ms. Elizabeth S. Tyree. Their goal? I’m sure they had many goals, of which one is to see how many people from countries around the world will read and comment on their work. I hope many of you will respond. The book is free at Amazon and, since they are short stories and poems, it is a fast read that is easy to pick up and put down whenever you like.

It seems that Ms. Tyree has some very talented students with a good imagination and varied writing skills.  Several of them, like Aaliyah Lloyd, Francisco Salas, Emily Beaner, Gabriella Evans, and Eddie Brown are promising fantasy/horror writers.  I loved the way Eddie wrote a prologue explaining in a seeming whisper that “my master does not like me talking. But I will take the risk and tell you a story.  The story of when I tried to escape.”

Others are very much into humour, such as Matthew Fore with his “The Juanito Squad”, “The Big Mix UP by Adrienne Nosler”, Zachary Whitecrow with “Mustangs Are Fast”, and Billy Campbell who wrote “A Crazy Day”.  One of my favourites has to be “Cereal Killer” by Alex Staats.  James Miller has written a rather surreal poem called, “Down, Down” and Ariana White’s poem “The Sea Turtle” is sharing an environmental concern for endangered species.

Hannah Sears, Sammy Baker, and Heather Campbell wrote fun stories with happy endings, and Hali Lanke, Braxely Gandara, Sarah Moyer, Allision Ortega, Wyatt Pope, and Aaron Henderson wrote about animals.

There are dragon stories, and Dracula tales, fairy tales, stories about schools (spooky and otherwise), and “The Long Journey” by Willie Maggard is a real cliff-hanger!  I wish I had room and time to mention all of the students who contributed but I encourage you to get your own copy and read them for yourselves.  I’m sure you’ll enjoy reading these stories as much as I did.  If you’re a teacher, you might want to read some of these wonderful stories to your students and possibly produce your own book of stories and poetry.  Or, provide them with the link to download Highland Park Presents for themselves.  Congratulations to all the grade 5 students of Highland Park!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Children's Book, Fantasy, Horror, Opinion, Poetry, Read Aloud and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Young Authors: Highland Park Presents

  1. I’ve already downloaded a copy of it – what a lovely idea and shows that Miss Tyree is the kind of wonderful teacher that should be in every school. Looking forward to reading those little guys tales. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

