Potpourri 12

I’m getting a little bit behind in my reading, partly because workmen came to replace the balconies above my back yard two weeks ago, found rot, and commenced to take the whole of my back wall apart from the inside out.  Windows came out, drywall came off, insulation was stripped away, and, of course, the power was off for that half of the house during the day and all the electric heaters were disconnected.  So the turn in the weather to +1 °C last Friday night was a bit of a trial, and due to the weather, drafts, and smells, my budgie has had to live with friends.  However, I am making some progress on downsizing my house, planning a garage sale, managing to stay out of the way of the workmen, and still doing a bit of reading as well.

TheAngel'sGameLast week I finished reading a book for Book Look Bloggers called And the Light Shines by Terri Wallace, so I’ll be writing about that in the next day or so.  I’ve been reading a book for The Ecclectic Reader Challenge that is set in a country beginning with “S” — Spain.  It’s The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafón and it’s about a young author pumping out penny dreadfuls in Barcelona.  It’s a long book, so it may be several days yet before I’m finished it.

Another book I’ve been reading is The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath.  This is the May book for Goodreads, and is the first time I tried to join in on their monthly book.  I studied some of her poetry at university but never got to read the novel.  Sadly, I’ve found the formatting in the ebook edition rather challenging.  I’m almost certain that words, if not whole lines are missing and so, today, I picked up a paperback version and hope that I will make better progress in that.  This novel was first published in 1963 under the pseudonym Victoria Lucas and is about a young girl caught up in the whirl of New York City and between two diverse standards, and so she begins a descent into the realm of madness.  It is considered to be semi-autobiographical, and Plath committed suicide 1 month after its publication.  While I’m not expecting it to be an uplifting story, I am enjoying the writing and the characterizations, and hope to be finished it before the end of May.

RedTideI still have my stacks of books on the floor here, and a number of ebooks which I am itching to get at:  Red Tide by Peg Brantley, AWOL: A Character Lost by Anthony Renfro, Final Respects by F.M. Meredith, Liar’s Games by Susan Finlay, and I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou.  And that’s just the ebooks.  The hard part will be deciding which to read next.  I’ve had The Lost Child of Philomena Lee for quite some time and can’t seem to get it to the top of my list.  Oh, well!  Soon, I hope!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Musings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

