Potpourri 13

I debated whether to follow the example of most hotels and skip the # thirteen in my “potpourri” posts but, aw . . . I’m not really superstitious!

devils-disciplesThis week I began my new Mystery Monday Meme (Mmm) with a Susan Findlay novel called Liars’ Games and this coming Monday we’ll have #14 in the Brother Matthew Bartholomew mystery series by Susanna Gregory, The Devil’s Disciples.  It is my hope that many mystery fans out there will join in and publish links to their mystery reviews as part of my meme and post their reviews on a Monday as well.  I’ve been writing my blog for just over a year now and I’m finding it a good thing to have a bit of a routine as to when I publish different things although I’ve tried a few routines and made changes as I learn what I’m most comfortable with.

AWOL_RenfroI’m reading a really funny book by Anthony Renfro on my ipad and I’ll be telling you more about it in a few days.  It’s called AWOL — A Character Lost and as I started getting into it, I was reminded of a book I bought a number of years ago and I’m pretty sure I never read it.  It’s called Six Characters in Search of an Author by Luigi Pirandello.  It came up in a book group discussion and sounded intriguing so, I wondered if there were parallels with AWOL.  Actually, the covers of the editions I have are somewhat similar, taking you into the distance where lines converge.  I should say here, my Pirandello cover is only one of many and I couldn’t find a picture of it online.  Pirandello6CharactersBut Pirandello’s book is a play of Pirandello’s within a play of Pirandello’s.  (Clear as mud?  More later.)  It’s about characters with a story to tell who intrude on a rehearsal of a play, hoping the producer will be their author.  In Renfro’s book, the narrator is an author who has a character he doesn’t remember creating, and can’t remember which of nine possible scenarios he has in various stages of development this character might belong to, and so he provides him with doors on his computer screen (sort of like a virtual reality game) with a single word on each door.  His Character goes through a door to see if that’s where he belongs.  There’s a lot of humour about writing process and the Character can be quite critical of his author.  So if you’re a writer, a would-be writer, or you’ve ever had writer’s block, I think you’ll totally enjoy this imaginative novel.

RCarsonUnderTheSeaSindI’ve pulled a Rachel Carson book off my shelves called Under the Sea-Wind.  I bought a number of her books just a while ago as I felt it was time I became familiar with her writings.  I knew of her but had never read her, and as she’s one of the women writers mentioned in the Time book, 100 Women Who Changed The World, I thought I would read this as part of that author’s challenge, so I’ll be talking about it very soon.

There are a number of Robin Williams movies I’ve never seen, so I’m hoping to write about some of them in the coming weeks.  On my list there are Good Will Hunting and Good Morning Vietnam.  (No significance that they both begin with “Good”.)  I thoroughly appreciated his role in the remake of Insomnia (2002) — rather unusual for him to play a serious bad guy, and did it so well.

I still have Tracks by Robyn Davidson on my radar which should be the last review of things based on her trek across the Australian desert.

OverSeaUnderStoneOne thing I’m quite looking forward to, is rereading the Susan Cooper series (she calls it a “sequence”) The Dark Is Rising, which is also the title of the second book of the five.  My plan is to get all 5 read and reviewed and then publish them one a day, hopefully before the summer holidays so parents can see if they’d like to provide them for their kids for the summer holidays.  The first one, Over Sea, Under Stone, is suitable for reading to primary students, juniors and older can read it for themselves; some of the others may seem a bit scary for younger children but my recollection of that may be wrong or should adjust since the advent of Harry Potter (another series I should read one day).

So, there’s lots on my plate for the coming weeks that I’ll be sharing with you and I hope you’ll enjoy my reviews.  Tell us what you’re reading.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Actor, Adult Book, Adventure, Author, Blogger, Challenge, Children's Book, Comedy, Drama, Fantasy, Humour, Musings, Mystery, Opinion, Plays, Young People and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

