Potpourri 17

For the next week I’ll be on the road visiting my dad, family, and friends in the Hamilton area but I’m pleased with what I have lined up for my blog.  I’ve been reading the Susan Cooper fantasy/adventure series, The Dark is Rising and expect to be publishing a review of each of the five books, one a day, Monday to Friday.  Fortunately, the first book, Over Sea, Under Stone, is a mystery, so it will be my Mystery Monday offering.  The 2nd book, The Dark is Rising, was made into a movie called The Seeker: The Dark is Rising which I hope to find a copy of and review for next Saturday.

Meanwhile, I’ve purchased the new Life/Time Inc. Specials book, The Enduring Power of To Kill a Mockingbird.  I’ve never read the book, and vaguely remember seeing at least part of the movie many years ago but I’ve pre-ordered the boxed set with Mockingbird and the new publication, Go Set a Watchman, which Lee Harper actually wrote first but never published.  I’m very excited about getting the set and can’t wait to read the Life/Time book.

This week I’m also reading The Curiosity Keeper by Sarah E. Ladd which I received from BookLookBloggers.  I’m already into it and enjoying it very much.  I still have AWOL to get back to (soon, perhaps), and I have I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings on my ipad which I’m really looking forward to reading since I loved the first book I read by Maya Angelou.  I still have Silver on the Tree to read for the Susan Cooper series so that will be a priority.

Also, at my dad’s residence, they’re showing a classic movie tomorrow night which I’m hoping to persuade him to go see with me.  It’s called Sabrina (1954) starring Audrey Hepburn, Humphrey Bogart, and William Holden.  A great movie — love story— chauffeur’s daughter is in love with playboy millionaire, is sent to cooking school in France to cure her, comes home still in love, he falls for her but is engaged to daughter of plastics merger magnate.  Older brother steps in to distract her, falls for her himself.  Great movie — full of hilarious complications, great acting by Hepburn, especially, and her chauffeur father, John Williams, and Nella Walker as mother to the Bogart and Holden characters.  They did a remake in 1995 with Harrison Ford, Greg Kinnear, and Julia Ormond which is a fine film in its own right, but there’s nothing like the original.  Have a great weekend!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Actor, Actress, Adult Book, Adventure, Children's Book, Comedy, Fantasy, Magazines, Movie, Musings, Mystery, Opinion, Romance, Romance, Young People and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

