Another Page – Social media and me …

Susan Toy is a multi-talented gal who shares her time between a Caribbean island called Bequia, and a small town on Lake Huron in the northwestern part of southern Ontario. I’ve reviewed a mystery story (which takes place in her island paradise) she wrote that I really enjoyed, and I’ve been following her blog, Island Editions, for quite some time now. This is her new venture which I think you’ll enjoy as my Sunday reblog. In how many ways have we become addicted to the Internet and what can/should we do about it?

The View From My Trailer and Verandah

Since I moved into my new digs on June 1st I’ve been without a constant and uninterrupted Internet connection that I’d grown accustomed – nay, addicted! – to having wherever I went, stayed, lived. It’s taken some adjustment, let me tell you! I go to the park’s Rec Hall to link into their free service to call Dennis on Skype and check in twice a day. But that service is not always connected. So I drive 20k into Kincardine and avail myself of their free WiFi at either the library or coffee shop across the street. Great! But I don’t like to sit there for too long and take advantage. I tried getting my own connection in the trailer, but it turned out that the entire park is in kind of a no-man’s-land when it comes to picking up signals (is that what Internet still does? pick up signals?) so…

View original post 508 more words

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Author, Blogger, Mystery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

