BOOK REVIEW: Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee

This is a first for me: I’m reblogging a post I haven’t actually read yet. I’m waiting until after I’ve read the book for myself. But that’s no reason why you shouldn’t read Aman’s review of the book. For more than a week now, all my posts (save the Mystery Monday meme) have had to do with Harper Lee. I hope you’ve been enjoying them and that you’ll also enjoy my Sunday reblog!

Despite all the criticism the book will continue to receive in coming days, months, and years, I think you should read Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee if you have read To Kill A Mockingbird. I cannot argue about the timing of the publishing of the book. I think it is fair that it got published after fifty-five years of Lee’s first novel and I am curious about what would have happened if this book would have published many years before.

The story starts as Jean Lousie, twenty-six years old, returns home from New York City to visit her aging father, Atticus Finch, now seventy-two and crippled by arthritis. Considered as the sequel the book is set against the backdrop of the civil rights tensions and political turmoil that were transforming the South, Jean Louise’s homecoming turns bittersweet when she learns disturbing truths about her close-knit family, the town and the people dearest to…

View original post 384 more words

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Author, Opinion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BOOK REVIEW: Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee

  1. Pingback: Year Round-up 2015 | Ms M's Bookshelf

Leave a Reply

