Potpourri 21

I’m thinking it will soon be time to take a bit of a break.  Renovations in my house are almost at an end; they are, however, taking a toll on my time and energy.  It’s time to enjoy what’s left of the summer before it disappears completely.

to-live-out-loud-front-promo-copyWhere am I now?  First, I finished reading an absolutely fascinating historical fiction novel about the Dreyfus Affair, To Live Out Loud, and I’m hoping to have a review ready for tomorrow(?).  I’ve heard about the ‘Dreyfus Affair’ before but really knew nothing about it other than it concerned a spy/traitor.  Paulette Mahurin‘s foray into the facts through the eyes of a friend of Émile Zola is riveting and I can’t wait to tell you all about it.

51SOeIMkYbL._SX314_BO1,204,203,200_I’ve begun reading William Faulkner‘s Intruder in the Dust in my current thirst for Southern authors.  (Apparently, there is a movie about it, as well, made the year I was born.)  I’ve read two Faulkner books before (As I Lay Dying in university and The Sound and the Fury twice, once in my teens when I really didn’t get it, then again later after reading As I Lay Dying when it made much more sense) and so am familiar with his stream of consciousness style.  What really strikes me so far, as I’m just a few chapters in, is that it appears to be a great follow-up to Go Set a Watchman and To Kill A Mockingbird in that it concerns a negro who is resented for his attitude.  At the beginning, he is being arrested for killing a white man.  No more about that for now.

CapoteMovieMy copy of the video Capote starring Philip Seymour Hoffman arrived so I hope to watch that soon, and then, of course, there’s still Rachel Carson and Amelia Earhart for my own Women Who Changed the World Authors Challenge which I need to get on with, plus I need to read another mystery for my Mystery Monday meme.  At least I finished my Eclectic Reader Challenge and  Mahurin’s book is number 91 for my Goodreads Challenge where I set my goal as 100 books to read this year.  I’ve signed on for a couple of blog tours for September for Revell Reads, so am looking forward to those.

That’s it for now.  Happy reading!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Challenge, Drama, Movie, Musings, Mystery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

