Teaser Tuesdays: Someone Not Really Her Mother

NotReallyHerMotherMy current read is not a new book although it’s new to me.  Someone Not Really Her Mother by Harriet Scott Chessman was first published in 2005 and was a Good Morning America “Read This” and was selected by the San Francisco Chronicle as one of the best books of the year.  It is easy to see why.

TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203

So Teaser Tuesdays says I’m to pick two sentences from any page and share them with you as a teaser.  Here are mine:

Her [mother’s] uncharted outing last February took her to the drugstore.  It was then that Mir had to acknowledge her mom was beginning to — not to vanish exactly, but to become someone not really her mother.

This is a tender story that will touch everyone who reads it because if we haven’t experienced a loved one slowly being lost to us, we may face it eventually, or we may become that lost person; it explores the tenuous links we have to those we love.  I’ll be writing a review shortly.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Author, Meme, Opinion and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Teaser Tuesdays: Someone Not Really Her Mother

  1. I’m sure that some day I may be ready to read this. Dementia hit my grandfather years ago and then my mom was dissociative and passed 5 years after he did (her funeral was 5 years to the day of losing him, actually). This week they’ve both been on my mind a lot more than usual as it’s the anniversary week of both … so it won’t be a right-away read … but definitely one to add to my “maybe someday” TBR. My teaser is from a much less serious supernatural mystery — http://wellreadpiratequeen.blogspot.com/2015/08/teasertuesday-25-heather-grahams-sacred.html

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We went through something similar with my grandmother who had dementia. It was hard watching her slip away like that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sounds like a great read, thanks! for sharing.

    Like

  4. Dagny says:

    Welcome to Teaser Tuesdays!
    Mine this week is the 10th Carlotta Carlyle mystery:
    https://madamevauquer.wordpress.com/2015/08/25/deep-pockets-linda-barnes/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This sounds like a fascinating book. The title is perfect for a book about Alzheimers.
    My Tuesday post features SAMUEL & SOPHIA.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      Yes. It’s incredibly appropriate. I saw the movie, Still Alice, but haven’t read the book yet. But this is such a poignant story I couldn’t put it down. My Dad is 101 right now and knows us all and is mostly with it but his stories are tenuous s far as their veracity — based in fact but very mixed up. This book gave me an interesting and different perspective.

      Like

  6. Foofy * Not Foofy says:

    Having loved someone with Alzheimers, this teaser makes me sad. It reminds me of losing my grandfather to that terrible disease.

    My teaser is from School of Deaths: http://www.foofynotfoofy.com/foofynotfoofy/2015/8/25/teaser-tuesday-school-of-deaths-by-christopher-mannino

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      It is more poignant than sad but may be very difficult for some. Very interesting, though, the way her escape from the Nazi invasion of France and how her life evolved from there. But especially the present life of the granddaughter who is so curious and so like her.

      Like

  7. ljennison says:

    Interesting teaser. I’d keep reading. Hope you enjoy the book! My Teaser

    Like

Leave a Reply

