Colour Me Relaxed!

Recently I read a great post reblogged on one of my favourite sites, Reading, Writing and Riesling.  It was all about adults and colouring books.  You read that right — adults and colouring books.  I enjoyed it immensely and later that week I was browsing in my favourite bookstore, Chapters (also called Indigo — a Canadian real store as well as an online virtual store) and found a huge display of colouring books for adults.  I took pictures so I’d be able to tell you about them and have their titles at hand.

ColouringBooks04I thought these two, Color Therapy — An Anti-Stress Coloring Book and Outside the Lines, Too, captured the essence of the joy of colouring as an adult.  Anti-stress is certainly a good reason to take up a colouring book of your choice.  And how many times as a child did you hear someone tell you to stay inside the lines?  Well you don’t have to anymore and how much joy there is in not having to follow lines and rules!  (A second book was called simply, Outside the Lines.)  Peeking out at the bottom is a book of Optical Illusions to colour which also looks like it could captivate for hours.

ColouringBooks11Another one I thought really appealing was The Big Book of Mandalas although I’m not sure my eyesight would last through too many of them.  Very intricate designs with the potential to creating beautiful pictures possibly worth framing.

There were several that had to do with cities: Dot to Dot — Cities (20 exotic locations and one 20″ x 14″ poster), Fantastic Cities, and Secret Paris, all looked terribly interesting and like they’d be fun to do.

Magic Garden and Winter Magic also looked like they’d free your mind while you bring to life the delicate magic in flowers and holiday creations.

ColouringBooks08Color Me Crazy, I thought might just drive me crazy with its teeny, tiny details crowded into a single page.  For people who crave a challenge, I guess.  Compare it with the other silver-coloured book, Creatures Great and Small which I could see appealing to many.  There were actually lots more books covering both sides of the display table and spilling over onto an upright stand.  All of them for adults!

The only difficulties lay in, 1) making a choice, and 2) figuring out where I’d find the time to finish even one page from one book!  I suppose if I was truly stressed out, I’d have to find the time, so, perhaps the obvious choice for me would be Color Me Crazy!  Which one would you choose?  Or do you already have a favourite?

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Colour Me Relaxed!

  1. Annika Perry says:

    I wrote a post about this craze in the UK in April entitled ‘Colour Your Way to
    Stillness’ and am so interested to see that it is sweeping across the Atlantic. Some are so tiny I do agree they are testing for the eyes. Never seen a dot to dot one, I love those so might be tempted. In the end I bought one called ‘Enchanted Forest’, thoroughly enjoy the peace and contentment it has given me colouring it it and the pictures are so imaginative and there is a fun ‘treasure hunt’ along the way. Hope you get a chance to try – and that it doesn’t drive you crazy!

    Liked by 1 person

    • mysm2000 says:

      It’s certainly an interesting phenomenon. I didn’t realize it was so widespread. I’m not sure if I’ll buy one or not. I have many hobbies and must soon get back to finishing about three chess sets I’ve been in the middle of since before I retired. The one I’m closest to being finished is a Lewis set which is my favourite. As soon as I’m finished renovating my back “tech” room. Too little time!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Annika Perry says:

        How true about too little time! I took my book on holiday and even then struggled to find an hour or two to colour in, but with no computers/TV/iPads I happily found some time. Chess sets? What are these that you are creating. Carving? I’m intrigued.

        Liked by 1 person

    • mysm2000 says:

      I have moulds that I bought of several different kinds of sets: Renaissance, gothic, Egyptian, and Lewis. Lewis is my favourite. There are several kinds of rooks, or, as they called them, wardens. I use different ones to make boxed tic tac toe sets — I just paint them in two different colours. I enjoy it but now that I’m retired, I just don’t seem to have the time. Soon I hope!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Annika Perry says:

        That’s so interesting. Wow! A lot of work goes into these. I do hope you get the chance to finish them. Funny that about being so busy when retired, my Mum says the same! Always on the go.

        Like

  2. estyree says:

    I just purchased two of them last week. One is called Good Vibes and one is the Creative Coloring Inspirations book. They are both fill of gorgeous sayings or words (Like Enjoy This Moment, Believe, etc) that have been decorated ornately to create amazing pictures to color. Gorgeous and a wonderful distraction! It was very difficult to limit myself to one! (In fact, my next Blogging for Books review book is a coloring book as well…I haven’t even finished my first picture from these two yet!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

