Teaser Tuesdays: Georgia Bottoms by Mark Childress

TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

GeorgiaBottomsChildressMy teaser from Georgia Bottoms by Mark Childress:

I have to admit, this is the first novel by this author I’ve read, and, so far, it isn’t quite what I expected.  I picked it because 1) I’m trying to read new authors (to me) and  2) Southern authors (because I haven’t read too many at this point), and 3) I liked the cover.  I thought the yellow shoes up on the dark brocade chair looked cute; that, and the title, made me curious.  Here’s my quote:

Considering Mama’s tendency to say “nigger” at the first opportunity, it was hard to imagine their friendship could last.  For now, though, this was better than having them hate each other. Mama’s dementia was coming in handy after all. She was a little bit less like herself every day.  Soon she would be a completely different person. Maybe Georgia would get along with her then. p.236

Share your teaser!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Author, Blogger, fiction, Meme, Opinion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Teaser Tuesdays: Georgia Bottoms by Mark Childress

  1. Literary Feline says:

    I love Southern fiction, and I like the teaser you shared. My grandmother had dementia and she was quite a different person than she was before that. She was nicer when she had dementia–which was nice in a way–but still sad. I’m not familiar with this novel. I hope you end up liking it!

    Like

  2. Foofy * Not Foofy says:

    I have not read much Southern fiction, even though I spent 15 years in the Deep South while growing up. I’ve enjoyed what little I’ve read though. This sounds interesting!

    My teaser is from a children’s fantasy novel: http://www.foofynotfoofy.com/foofynotfoofy/2015/9/8/teaser-tuesday-the-blood-guard

    Liked by 1 person

  3. boyishbookworm says:

    Intriguing teaser. Seems like the focus here is on the relationships between the characters and I like those kind of books.

    Ronnie @ Paradise Found

    Like

  4. Sounds like a fascinating book. I enjoy reading books set in the South, so this sounds like a story I’d definitely enjoy.
    My Tuesday post features Shadow of the Hawk.

    Like

  5. I am drawn to the cover, too, and I love the excerpt. I suspect there will be lots of conflict ahead. Here’s mine: “MY SALINGER YEAR”

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, that teaser really made me curious about this book. Sounds like a fun read. 🙂

    Stormi
    My Teaser

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

