Teaser Tuesdays: In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

InColdBloodIt all started with the publishing of Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee.  I hadn’t read To Kill a Mockingbird so I had to go there first.  That took me to books and articles about Harper Lee.  Then, to the movie and to Truman Capote who was her childhood friend and is featured in TKAM.  I’ve watched Capote and Infamous, the TV miniseries In Cold Blood, and now, I’m reading his most famous book, In Cold Blood.  Here is my teaser from that:

The grim information, announced from church pulpits, distributed over telephone wires, publicized by Garden City’s radio station, KIUL (“A tragedy, unbelievable and shocking beyond words, struck four members of the Herb Clutter family late Saturday night or early today.  Death, brutal and without apparent motive . . .”), produced in the average recipient a reaction nearer that of Mother Truitt than that of Mrs. Clare: amazement, shading into dismay; a shallow horror sensation that cold springs of personal fear swiftly deepened. p.69-70

Even knowing the events as depicted in the above movies, the exquisite writing in this book and the moods evoked transcend anything achieved on the screen, silver or small, yet without gruesome details or devastating images.  I hope it makes you want to read In Cold Blood by Truman Capote.  (My review to follow later this week or next.)

Share your teaser!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Historical Fiction, Opinion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Teaser Tuesdays: In Cold Blood by Truman Capote

  1. Pingback: In Cold Blood by Truman Capote | Ms M's Bookshelf

  2. KymPossible says:

    This is one of those classics that I’ve never read, but I should. Thanks for sharing the teaser!
    Here’s my Teaser for this week: http://justasecondblog.blogspot.com/2015/09/teaser-tuesdaysfirst-chapter-first_15.html

    Like

  3. I really enjoyed reading In Cold Blood when I read it a few years ago. Capote has such a way with words.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. After seeing your Teaser, I’m wondering why I haven’t read this book! I’ve just added it to my TBR list.
    My Tuesday post features A Weekend Getaway

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I read this years ago, but have not watched any of the adaptations.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      They’re quite faithful to the written story with few exceptions. I hadn’t read it before and am quite captivated by the writing. I think I had always been worried it would be scary but it isn’t really.

      Like

Leave a Reply

