Teaser Tuesday: The Ice Queen by Alice Hoffman

TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I’ll bet most of you open a book and read a paragraph here or there before you decide to buy a book just as I do.  When I taught school, I always told the children to read the back cover, read the beginning, then read a paragraph in the middle, and one near the end.  Mostly for them, it was to make sure the book wasn’t too hard for them, but also to be sure it was going to interest them.  I’m usually pretty sure I want to read a book by Alice Hoffman before I read the back cover or look inside, but here’s the paragraph near the middle that I read, that made me want to read The Ice Queen.

The truth was, I didn’t want to interfere.  Why should it be up to me to touch anyone’s life, guide someone right rather than left, off the road instead of on? Get involved and you made mistakes. Inevitable. Who knows where your advice, interest, love, might lead? Start and it might be impossible to stop. That was what was happening with Lazarus. I had taken the one bead of doubt Renny had tossed out and strung a necklace, red pearls, invisible to my eye, but tight around my throat, pulling at me.

Would it make you want to read it?  Looking forward to seeing your teasers!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Teaser Tuesday: The Ice Queen by Alice Hoffman

  1. Candid Cover says:

    I love Alice Hoffman! I haven’t had a chance to read this one yet and your teasers have really intrigued me to pick this one up.

    Like

  2. Eustacia Tan says:

    Oooh, Alice Hoffman! The teaser is beautiful too, I’m definitely intrigued!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. fuonlyknew says:

    Intriguing. You can choose to not get involved, but that might be a bad thing. Lovely writing and cover art.

    Here’s my TT – http://fuonlyknew.com/2015/09/29/teaser-tuesdays-130-authors-choice-from-the-key-of-amatahns-and-a-giveaway/

    Like

  4. This sounds like an excellent book. I love the writing in your Teaser.
    My Tuesday post features Previously Loved Treasures

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ryna says:

    Nice Teaser and happy Tuesday! Please go check out my Teaser Tuesday of Asa (Marked Men #6)

    Like

Leave a Reply

