Potpourri 23

Well, between my brother’s wedding, coming down with a severe throat infection, living on liquids for almost a week, and still trying to downsize the things cluttering my living space, I’m a bit behind where I’d like to be in my reading.  However, I’m now finished my antibiotics, eating solid food, and at least half of my house is improved spacious living, so progress is being made on most fronts.

NewBookshelfI now have a new coffee table/bookcase in my TV room which is the good news.  The bad news is that the portion of the coffee table facing my “comfy chair” is the one full of books yet to be read.  This is in addition to the books on top of the shelving unit where I have all my Judy Garland and Liza Minnelli movies and books (off to the right) which are also waiting to be read.  And then there are the books on my ipad which are sometimes out of sight, out of mind!

Dovekeepers_(2015)I’d like to say I have a plan, but alas, I do not.  Fortunately, I have the format to follow of a mystery story for Mondays, a teaser for Tuesdays, and usually a movie for Wed. or Thu.  I have a couple of movie/TV series ready to go — watch for reviews of The Dovekeepers mini series and House of Cards from Netflix — and have started a mystery for Monday.

I have a book by Alice Hoffman on my horizon — The Ice Queen which was my teaser this past Tuesday, and a comfort read by Susanna Gregory, Death of a Scholar from her Brother Matthew Bartholomew series.  I still have Tracks by Robyn Davidson and The King’s Curse by Philippa Gregory waiting, the later being a rather large book so a bit daunting as I try to “publish” every day.

This weekend I’m going to a friend’s place to watch some episodes of Digging for the Truth with Josh Bernstein where Josh visits Anasazi sites (in Colorado and New Mexico), and travels to Easter Island (aka Rapa Nui).  Fun for me because I’ve been to both places as a volunteer on archaeological digs since retiring just over two years ago, and I actually met some of the same people Josh did.  Digging for the Truth was a great series.  (Someone else came on board for season 4 but I haven’t seen those episodes.)

GirlsOfKabulThere’s also an autobiography of Canadian newsman, Lloyd Robertson which I’d like to get to sometime soon, as well as a book that’s been waiting patiently for some time called The Underground Girls of Kabul which I know is going to be awesome and I must get to it soon.  And I really do need to get back to a book by someone on my list of Women Who Changed the World for my own challenge.  That’s what’s on my plate!  What’s on yours?

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Author, Challenge, Made for Netflix, Made for TV, Musings, Mystery, TV series and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

