Teaser Tuesday: Fly Birdie by Jo Robinson

TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I’ve read several books by Jo Robinson, blogger and author from South Africa, and have enjoyed all of them.  Her book, Echoes of Narcissus in the Gardens of Delight, was a powerful story about escaping the vice grips of life with a narcissist, and from what I’ve read so far in Fly Birdie, this may well be on the same theme but with a slightly different tack.  Here’s my teaser:

The always aching gap between her shoulder blades grew ever narrower, as the familiar dread that was her constant companion grew and grew, until it engulfed her, and the snakes of disquiet slithered and roiled in her belly . . .

He scowled at her, waiting for her to beg, sneering with his arctic eyes, never doubting that she would beg, and that he would finally crush her completely, as she deserved to be crushed.

Are you intrigued?  Share your teaser, too.

Related:

Shadow People Book One by Jo Robinson

Echoes of Narcissus in the Gardens of Delight by Jo Robinson

African Me and Satellite TV by Jo Robinson

Interview with Jo Robinson

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Author, fiction, Opinion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Teaser Tuesday: Fly Birdie by Jo Robinson

  1. Eustacia Tan says:

    He sounds awful. I hope she never gives up fighting.

    Thanks for having stopped by my blog!

    Like

  2. Yvonne says:

    I haven’t read anything by this author, but it’s definitely intriguing.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      Everything I’ve read by her so far has been amazing. I think my favourite so far is African Me and Satellite TV; that’s where I’d start. Glad you stopped by.

      Like

  3. J.E. Fountain says:

    Yep…that’s intriguing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Greg says:

    That sounds like a bad relationship- yikes! And an interesting teaser too…

    Like

  5. proxyfish says:

    Really intriguing! I like the sound of this one.

    Like

  6. Harvee says:

    Wow! What a teaser!

    Like

  7. Oh, wow, loved it! “The snakes of disquiet” drew me in. Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    Like

  8. Annika Perry says:

    Definitely intrigued and I too enjoy reading Jo’s blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

