Potpourri 24

SteveJobsThere are two movies coming out later this week that I am keen to see.  One is called Steve Jobs.  I bought a Time Inc special issue simply called Steve Jobs and subtitled The Genius Who Changed Our World.  (If you follow my blog, you probably realize I’m a big fan of these Time Inc special issues; this is another great one.)  In this book there are lots of photos, background and behind the scenes info, and some speculation about what made Steve Jobs tick.  Very interesting content.

Jobs is described as a tyrant whose “ferocity toward his employees is the stuff of legends”; but while the “perfection of the tools he made suggested a deep empathy with others, [he] also [had] a kind of aggression toward them: he would make things so perfect that we could not refuse them”.

Jobs was featured on the cover of Time Magazine no less than 8 times because every few years he was “able to revolutionize new industries . . . with stunning regularity — computers, then movies, then music, then phones”.  There is no doubt he was a genius.  Perhaps his most stunning achievement was obtaining a $150 million investment from Microsoft, his archrival, in 1997.

Steve-Jobs-MITM-PosterFrom creating a successful ipad when two decades of previous tablets had fallen flat, to obsessing about the off-colour of the 2nd “o” in Google’s logo and offering to fix it, to his purchase of Pixar and its production of the amazingly successful Toy Story created totally on the computer, Jobs was the genius quick to recognize what other people had when they had no idea of what to do with it.  He had a knack for keeping incredibly talented people on his staff despite his autocratic micromanagement of his company.  After reading this magazine (which I’m still gleaning neat tidbits from after two weeks of browsing), I’m excited to see what the movie has to offer.

The second movie I’m looking forward to seeing is Remember starring two actors who are possibly the best of all time:  Christopher Plummer and Martin Landau.  With Remembrance Day coming soon, this is a timely release and sounds like an extremely dramatic portrayal of an elderly survivor of Auschwitz, suffering from dementia, who sets out to track down the Nazi who killed his family.  It sounds like it will be excellent.  You can check out the trailer here:

Remembrance_2011Another movie I watched on Netflix this week is called Remembrance (2011), and it was also excellent.  I had never seen it before and found it to be an interesting look at two survivors of the Nazi camps,  who each thought the other had been killed.  Thirty years later, Hannah sees an interview on TV with a survivor — Tomasz — her lover who had risked his life to help her escape and for whom she had been mourning all these years.  There are flashbacks to the story of their relationship in a prison camp, their escape, how they became separated, and what happened to each of them afterwards.  Based on a true story, this is only one of many movies about the courage and hope that helped people survive dreadful conditions and treatment, with death hanging over them every day.  I found the ending a little bit startling but overall very interesting. * * * *

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Actor, Drama, History, Movie, Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Potpourri 24

  1. Annika Perry says:

    We have had Apple computers since the second one and I was always a huge fan of Steve Jobs so the film sounds interesting. As for Remembrance, must check and see if we have that here in the UK on netflix.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      I’ve always had Macs. We had them in the elementary schools when I started teaching and, although the school board switched to Windows platform, I’ve stayed with Macs. They’re just so user friendly and always come with everything already on them and the boot-up and installation discs with them. I never had one I couldn’t fix if it had problems or upgrade myself for my classroom. My current Macbook Pro is about 8 years old and I bought it second hand but it’s still working great. I hope you have Remembrance. It was a really amazing story, that people could find each other after all that time and all they went through.

      Like

Leave a Reply

