From My TBR List

Not sure why I can’t stop buying books!  Aman might have the right idea when he calls himself a Readaholic.  I guess I am, too.  Here are a few books from my list that I’m trying to get to ASAP but am having some difficulty managing that.

Eleanora'sDiaryEleanora’s Diary by Caroline Balderson Parry.

From the author’s website:

Eleanora’s Diary, The Journals of a Canadian Pioneer Girl, a unique presentation of Canadian emigrant life in the 1830s based on an actual girl’s diaries, sparked the Scholastic “Dear Canada” fiction series.

Prince of Fools by Mark Lawrence is Book One of The Red Queen’s War.  From the back cover:

PrinceofFoolsThe red Queen is old, but the kings of the Broken Empire dread her like no other.  For all her reign, she has fought the long war, contested in secret, against the powers that stand behind nations, for higher stakes than land or gold. Her greatest weapon is the Silent Sister — unseen by most and unspoken of by all.

The Red Queen’s grandson Prince Jalan Kendeth — drinker, gambler, seducer of women — is one who can see the Silent Sister. Tenth in line for the throne and content with his role as a minor royal, he pretends that the hideous crone is not there. But war is coming. Witnesses claim an undead army is on the march, and the Red Queen has called her family to defend the realm. Jal thinks it’s all a rumor — nothing that will affect him.

But he is wrong.

Actually sounds a bit similar to one I’m bogged down in right now. I think I liked the cover.  I’ll have to see how that goes!

Searching for David's HeartSearching for David’s Heart, A Christmas Story (yes, it’s that time of year again), by Cherie Bennett, is classified as a teen read and sounds really intriguing — some of which will sound familiar but some of which will be thought-provoking.  Here’s what the back cover says:

Life at Darcy’s house isn’t always easy. Money is tight, and her parents argue a lot. Darcy’s shy and quiet with most people, but it’s not like that with her brother, David. He and Darcy are soul mates. Until David gets a girlfriend, that is, and starts to treat Darcy as if she were a pest.  Darcy is hurt and humiliated, and one day after a huge fight, Darcy runs off. David chases after her and is killed in a shocking accident. Darcy is sure his death is her fault.

Then Darcy’s parents decide to donate David’s heart for transplant. Darcy believes that if she can find David’s heart, even if it’s beating in someone else’s body, she will have found her brother, and in some way he will still be alive.  And so the search for David’s heart begins.

The Continental Op by Dashiell Hammett has been on my shelf for quite a few years and reading two books by Robert Lane has prompted me to take it down, dust it off, and finally get into it.  Inside fly leaf:

DashiellHammettDashiell Hammett is the great master and true inventor of modern detective fiction; the creator of the private eye, the isolated hero in a world where treachery is the only norm. These seven stories, which first appeared in the magazine Black Mask and have long been unavailable, are the best examples of Hammett’s early writing, in which his formidable literary and moral imagination is already operating at full strength. They introduce the Continental Op, the dispassionate fat man from the Continental Detective Agency, an organization modelled on the Pinkerton Agency for which Hammett himself had worked.  In these stories the reader will find the main themes of Hammett’s later fiction — the skewed moral environment where nothing and no one can be trusted, the cold-eyed detective whose only interest is to do his job, and the criminals whose depravity mocks the pretensions of the reader’s own world. These Continental Op stories create a world of violence and stealth, of cold passion, desperate action, and great excitement. They prefigure not only the world of subsequent detective fiction, but the world in which the contemporary reader actually lives.

Another book for young people, is The House on the Gulf by Margaret Peterson Haddix, author of The Shadow Children series with which I am unfamiliar.  This is published by Scholastic and sounds quite interesting.  The back cover contains this teaser:

HouseOnTheGulfI wanted to ask another question. . . But I knew I wouldn’t get a good answer. I kept my mouth shut and made a private vow. Gran didn’t know it, but I was going to be watching him every bit as closely as he was watching out for this house.

TaiChiChuan

101 Reflection on Tai Chi Chuan by Michael Gilman is more about how to do Tai Chi rather than reflections to focus on while doing Tai Chi.  Here’s what the back cover says:

If you are serious about your Tai Chi practice then 101 Reflections on Tai Chi Chuan is the book for you! Chock-full of insights, advice, and observations from a long time teacher and champion, designed to help you get the most from your practice. Discover the remarkable health and spiritual benefits that Tai Chi can offer, with this user-friendly, motivational pocket guide. This collection will not only enrich your practice but your entire life. And it’s not only for Tai Chi — whatever your Martial Art, whatever your spiritual path, 101 Reflections into Tai Chi Chuan is a wonderful guide, abundant with great ideas you can use right away!

That’s just a few from my list.  What’s on your list?

 

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Adventure, Christmas, Historical Fiction, History, Musings, Mystery, Young People and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to From My TBR List

  1. carenksr says:

    I also need to stop buying books. That 1-click feature on my Kindle is killing me! I’ve got lots on my TBR. Currently, I just want to finish the two books I have started, Map of Moments by Golden and Lebbon. And Nikolas and Company book 1 by Kevin McGill. I’m really enjoying both of them.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      Isn’t that 1-click feature a killer? I haven’t heard of either book. Map of Moments sounds interesting, as in different. I’ll have to look into that. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      Like

  2. I don’t make large TBR lists since they often end up in disappointments. Sometimes I make weekly lists, and I now have 3 books pending: Henry Gray’s Anatomy of Human Body, David Foster Wallace’s Oblivion and Both Flesh and Not.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      I’m under the impression that Gray’s Anatomy is a rather large book and not the kind that one reads through in one sitting. Am I right? That’s really ambitious. I mostly read fiction or spiritual development books, the latter of which are best read in small chunks so as to absorb, reflect and try out the ideas as you go. Thanks for weighing in.

      Like

Leave a Reply

