Teaser Tuesday: The Continental Op by Dashiell Hammett

TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

DashiellHammettThe Continental Op by Dashiell Hammet is a series of short stories so I’m reading a story here and there and hoping to complete the book before too long.  Here’s a teaser from The Tenth Clew:

O’Gar and I walked six or seven blocks in thoughtful silence after we left Creda Dexter’s apartment, and then he spoke.

“A sleek kitten — that dame! Rub her the right way, and she’ll purr pretty. Rub her the wrong way — and look out for the claws!”

Is this your type of story?  Can you picture the scene?  Would you keep reading?  Share your teaser!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Author, Meme, Musings, Mystery, Teaser and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Teaser Tuesday: The Continental Op by Dashiell Hammett

  1. Greg says:

    I like this- sounds deliciously hardboiled. 🙂 I haven’t read any of these classic PI stories, but I’d like to…

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      I think you’d really like them. Have you seen The Maltese Falcon? That’s probably his most famous novel and Bogart played his “hardboiled” detective. Thanks for leaving a comment.

      Like

  2. J.E. Fountain says:

    Ya gotta love the dialogue in a good Dash Hammet or Raymond Chandler private dic story. I wonder did anybody ever really talk that way? I suppose they did; it just seems so ludicrous now.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like short stories, and this one seems interesting…!

    Like

  4. Classic! Sounds like a collection of stories that I’d enjoy.
    My Tuesday post features Shem Creek.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      Your teaser sounded good also. I’m not familiar with the author, but then, that’s what Teaser Tuesday is for — to introduce us to new reads we’ll enjoy. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  5. Kathy Martin says:

    Remarkably sexist, isn’t it? The teaser on my adult blog comes from a new military thriller – Tenacity by J. S. Law. Happy reading!

    Like

  6. proxyfish says:

    Interesting! I love a good mystery!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. My husband loves all those old crime novels. I don’t think he liked Hammett as well as Chandler, however. I haven’t tried Hammett yet. I like your teaser!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I like the sound of this one, it’s full of mysterious intrigue! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. jonesjar says:

    Nice teaser. You can tell it was written some time ago.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I can definitely picture that scene….thanks for sharing. Here’s mine: “THE PERFECT STRANGER”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

