Mystery Monday: The Devil’s Seal by Peter Tremayne

MysteryMondayMeme02Mystery Monday welcomes Peter Beresford Ellis (aka Peter Tremayne).  An authority on the ancient Celts, Tremayne’s Sister Fidelma mysteries take place in seventh-century Ireland are well-grounded in fact.  Sister Fidelma is the sister of the King Colgú of Muman, is a dálaigh or advocate of the court.  Her husband, Brother Eadulf (listed in the character list at the front as her “companion”), is an outsider still after 7 years, but is also a lawyer.  Neither of them is still in “holy orders” although he still maintains the tonsure and both wear the robes of the church.

611+T3cSQJL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_The king’s guard, returning from a mission of diplomacy, come across a grotesque scene — two men in holy orders and two boatmen — have been butchered, their belongings either burned or stolen, and hardly a clue to who or why such a thing should take place.  As they prepare to bury the men, they discover that one is still breathing so they enlist a nearby cleric, Brother Siolán, to care for him.  He turns out to be the brother of Eadulf, long presumed dead.

There is much consternation at the palace about an impending deputation from Rome on some secret mission, Egric appears to be much changed, a second cleric is discovered murdered in the palace chapel, and in the midst of this, King Colgú is having difficulties with his steward and his Chief Brehon, the one of whom is pedantic about protocol while the other is extremely defensive about his position and wants to charge Eadulf with murder because he was the one who discovered the body.

ire700When the delegation arrives from Rome, the members are both arrogant and obnoxious, and unwilling to reveal the purpose of their visit.  An attempt on the lives of Fidelma and Eadulf adds more tension to the story, and then Egric disappears.  More people are killed before Fidelma is able to get to the bottom of things.  It’s a complex plot — there are no witnesses to the murders, and many people are lying.

220px-Peter_Berresford_EllisThe characters make a good mix, the layout of the palace and the surrounding area is clearly pictured.  It took me a while to get into the story because I find it difficult to read unusual names I don’t know how to pronounce.  While I like maps at the beginning of stories, if it’s printed sideways and you’re reading on an ipad, you can’t turn it right-side up; so I went to the Internet to find one.  But, once I was into the plot, I really got into it.  The action took place in a variety of places, there were lots of surprises, and the characters really brought the 7th century to life.  A very enjoyable mystery. * * * *

It’s very easy to participate in my Mystery Monday meme.  Just post a review of your latest mystery read on your own site, and then a comment on my post with a link to yours.  Simplicity itself!  I look forward to learning about more great mysteries to add to my ever-growing list of To Be Read.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Adventure, Mystery, Opinion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mystery Monday: The Devil’s Seal by Peter Tremayne

  1. Annika Perry says:

    Sounds an interesting read with a complex plot. I’m a bit like that with unusual names and will often pronounce them a certain way in my head only later to be surprised by how they really sound in real life.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      With names, I’ll say it in my head one way and then the next time, I’ll say it differently. When I come across it again, I try it the first way again. I can’t decide which way is right, so I keep switching back and forth and it becomes a huge distraction from the story. You get 5 or 6 names like that and the plot better be really great or I just give up. Fortunately, here, the plot did grab me about the third or fourth chapter.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

