Teaser Tuesday: The Underground Girls of Kabul by Jenny Nordberg (again)

TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

The_Underground_Girls_of_KabulWell, I’ve just finished reading The Underground Girls of Kabul and it’s going to take a few days to absorb everything and think about what I want to write.  So I’m going to give you another little taste of what this is all about.

“This is my third destiny,” [Shukria] continues, “First I was a man and then a woman, and now I will be a divorced woman.”  . . .

When a woman does not belong to her father, with her virginity as capital, or a husband, with her status attached to him, there is no role for her in the patriarchal culture.

It is so difficult for me to imagine what it must be like for a woman living in such a strict (conservative, it says in the book) society.  Do you want to know more?  Share your current read teaser!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Journalism, Meme, Opinion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Teaser Tuesday: The Underground Girls of Kabul by Jenny Nordberg (again)

  1. Jaina says:

    This seems like such an amazing book, but I’ll freely admit that I’m terrified of picking it up. I just don’t know if I could handle it.

    Like

  2. It looks really interesting, and, as a social scientist working on non-Western cultures I have come across some of those issues the book mentions. Should give it a try.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mysm2000 says:

      It was really interesting, partly because she met so many people who had been involved with women in a position to study a wide range of women over time, and she did great research into studies. One of the amazing things was how so many people in authority denied the existence of the problems and the girls growing up as boys because of cultural pressure. Fascinating.

      Like

  3. Eustacia Tan says:

    That sounds like a thought-provoking book – I’ll have to see if I can find it in the library!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Amy says:

    This book looks incredibly interesting and thought provoking. I think it would be a very emotional read for me too.

    Thanks for visiting my post.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hi Lorraine,

    Thanks for visiting Fiction Books this week. I enjoy meeting new bloggers, so your visits will always be welcome and your comments appreciated.

    I don’t read non-fiction on a reguar basis, unless they are ‘coffee table’ style books, which I can dip in and out of occasionally. Your teaser lines from this particular book however, were thought provoking enough to at least make me want to check out the complete synopsis.

    ‘Conservative’ doesn’t even begin to describe such an oppressive culture, where men believe themselves to be so superior to women … and I’m definitely no feminist!

    We can fight in wars against such extremists, but I’m afraid that until there is a will amongst the native population for change, all our efforts and lost lives, will be in vain!

    Thanks for sharing your teaser lines 🙂

    Yvonne

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      Thanks for taking the time to read and respond to my post. I appreciate your comments. I don’t read a lot of non-fiction myself but saw a review of this book on another blog and it made me really curious. A lot of research went into it and it’s very readable. I got totally caught up in the stories of some of these women as they unfolded over the couple of years the author spent learning about their lives. Thanks again for stopping by.

      Like

  6. Alice Audrey says:

    Although I haven’t lived in such places, I can relate. For a while I hung out with some guys who claimed they only had three roles for women – virgin, mother, or whore. Turns out there’s actually a fourth – which I fit into because I wasn’t any of the others; crazy.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yvonne says:

    Interesting book choice. Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. J.E. Fountain says:

    Progress is painfully slow…but it’s good to hear some encouraging stories.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sounds like an interesting read. Thanks for stopping by my blog! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. proxyfish says:

    This sounds like a very interesting read but I think I would find it hard to read (emotionally). Hope you’re enjoying it!

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      Actually, I didn’t find it so much emotional as thought provoking. The women interviewed over time were, for the most part, taking control of their lives with varying degrees of success. When you think that it’s been less than 100 years since women got the vote in North America & Britain, it is quite sobering. Many men are still threatened by women who display talent and intelligence.

      Like

Leave a Reply

