Potpourri 26

munich-dvdThings have been just a little crazy.  I’ve been seeing lots of great movies — both old and new— and reading some really amazing books — also, old and new.  I have a friend I visit and watch DVDs with; one week I take a movie or two over, the next week we choose one of his.  It’s been a lot of fun.  Last weekend there were two of his we had set aside to watch.  I didn’t think I’d seen either of them and so it was basically a toss-up.  I picked Munich.  Considering the events in Paris the day before, it was a rather sobering choice.  If you’re not familiar with the movie, check it out.  I’ll be writing about it later next week.  There have just been so many things to write about.

The_Underground_Girls_of_KabulI finished reading The Underground Girls of Kabul which is a totally mind-blowing, carefully researched book by Jenny Nordstrom which has taken time to process thoroughly and a review of that book will be coming soon.  (I published lines from it twice on Teaser Tuesday.)

I’ve been put onto some new mystery writers that I will be including in the Mystery Monday meme, but that will remain a mystery for now.

King'sCurseI’m still hoping to get to Philippa Gregory’s book The King’s Curse but it’s rather thick and intimidating and I keep thinking, ‘it will be days when I’ll have nothing to write about because it will take me so long to read it!’  So if there’s nothing new from me for a few days, you’ll know why.

I find I’m in the midst of a conundrum.  I can’t decide if the anonymity of the web is responsible for the proliferation of foul language throughout new literature, if seeing it in comments all over the web is creating the impression that such language is actually acceptable everywhere in society now, or if it’s simply that the flood of new self-publishing is making available work that wouldn’t have passed a publisher’s desk even 10 years ago is responsible.  I don’t know what the answer is.  I accept that the odd swear word here and there can convey character.  I’ve even shown a movie or two to grade five and six students where I knew there would be a couple of swear words but we’ve discussed it ahead of time, and made note that it was language they had probably heard somewhere before, but that they knew that myself and other staff (and probably their parents) neither used such language or expected them to use such language and that I wasn’t sanctioning it.  But if a character can’t open his (or her) mouth without being crude and vulgar, then perhaps this isn’t a character worth reading about.  Or perhaps the author just has a deplorable lack of vocabulary.  I even read interviews with actors, and actresses, who are quoted using swear words.  Do they think that makes them sound smart? or cool?  Am I the only one who finds it offensive when someone uses Christ’s name as an expletive?  I guess I’ve just seen way too much of this in the past week and had to vent.  I am hoping that it isn’t just me.  The reason we don’t swear in front of children isn’t because it’s an adult thing to do but because we want them to grow up and express themselves in a way that respects others and shows they have other ways of dealing with difficult situations.

NewsiesOK.  Enough of that.  I read a really neat historical novel by Avi last week called City of Orphans and it was about immigrant families in 1893 New York City, and in particular, the newsies.  It made me wish I had seen the musical, Newsies, when it was here in Ottawa a couple of weeks ago but I’ve bought the movie from Amazon and hope to watch it sometime in the coming week.

That’s it for now.  Watch for my Sunday Reblog tomorrow — you’re gonna like it!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Historical Fiction, Musings, Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

