Teaser Tuesday; First Chapter, First Paragraph: The King’s Curse by Philippa Gregory

TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

KingsCurseI’ve enjoyed reading many, if not all, of Philippa Gregory‘s historical novels, especially her Tudor Court novels, all told from the perspective of royal women.  The story of the King’s Curse is told by Margaret Pole, niece of two Plantagenet kings living under the Tudor rule of Henry VII and Henry VIII.  This is from p.237:

I have lived under the rule of a fearful king and I know that fear is a contagion, just like the Sweat.  A frightened king first fears his enemies and then his friends and then he cannot tell one from the other until every man and woman in the kingdom fears that they can trust no one.

fistchap

Here’s the first chapter, first two paragraphs, a meme hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea:

In the moment of waking I am innocent, my conscience clear of any wrongdoing. In that first dazed moment, as my eyes open, I have no thoughts; I am only a smooth-skinned, tightly muscled young body, a woman of twenty-six, slowly waking with joy to life. I have no sense of my immortal soul, I have no sense of sin or guilt. I am so deliciously, lazily sleepy that I hardly know who I am.

Slowly, I open my eyes and realize that the light coming through the shutters means that it is late in the morning. As I stretch out, luxuriously, like a waking cat, I remember that I was exhausted when I fell asleep and now I feel rested and well. And then, all in a moment, as if reality had suddenly tumbled down on my head like glossy-sealed denouncements from a high shelf, I remember that I am not well, that nothing is well, that this is the morning I hoped would never come: for this morning I cannot deny my deadly name: I am the heir of royal blood, and my brother — guilty as I am guilty — is dead.

Would you keep reading?  Share your current read, a teaser, first chapter first paragraph!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Historical Fiction, Meme, Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Teaser Tuesday; First Chapter, First Paragraph: The King’s Curse by Philippa Gregory

  1. I really like the sound of this one, you can sense that there’s a real rawness behind the words you’ve shared with us today. I love historical fiction, have you by chance seen the television series Tudor’s? Your teaser got me thinking about the show 😉

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      I don’t think I did. I’m pretty sure it was on when I was economizing and had decided to do without cable for awhile. I should look for the DVDs online or on Netflix. DVDs are really coming down in price now that there’s Netflix and other online streaming sites. I’m sure I’d enjoy them. Thanks for reminding me about them. Glad you stopped by.

      Like

  2. Vicki says:

    I’m not a huge fan of this genre, but the teaser and paragraph did catch my attention!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I always enjoy reading about the Tudors!

    Like

  4. Beth F says:

    I always enjoy her books. I haven’t gotten to this one yet.

    Like

  5. Yvo says:

    I always enjoy a good historical fiction novel and The King’s Curse sounds like a very interesting read.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      I’m really enjoying it. While I vividly remember what happens to the main players of the time period, Margaret’s family details are rather hazy so I’m learning more about them and they are extremely interesting. Thanks for leaving a comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, wow, I can relate to that waking up slowly and then realizing that something really bad has happened. I must read this author!

    Thanks for sharing…and here’s mine: “THE GUEST ROOM”

    Like

  7. I like the leisurely pace of this book’s opening — quite different from the stories I’ve been reading lately. I’ll look for this book and others by this author.
    My Tuesday post features the Rawhide ‘n Roses anthology.

    Like

  8. I haven’t read Gregory since The Other Boleyn Girl, but this reminds me why I loved it so much! I especially loved the teaser.

    Like

  9. Cathy says:

    I love Philippa Gregory novels although I don’t think I’ve read this one. Thanks for coming over to my blog http://indie-bookworm.blogspot.co.uk/2015/12/teaser-tuesday-2.html and hope you’ve had a great day.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      A lot of this book seems very familiar to me as I’ve read The Constant Princess which is a story of the same period told by Henry’s first queen, but as this is more centred around her friend, Margaret Pole, and her family, it has a different perspective and more information that is unique to this story. Thanks for your comment.

      Like

  10. I can just picture and feel that scene. It’s well described. I have only read one book by this author and I liked it okay, but not enough to read anything else by her. Maybe someday I will give her another try.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      I love all her historical fiction books. I read the first of one of her other series — fiction. Well, that’s not strictly speaking true. I read the first couple of chapters, maybe as many as four, and that put it in a drawer and eventually gave it to the Salvation Army. I didn’t like it at all; was actually disgusted by the plot. But her books on the Tudors and the Cousins Wars are wonderful if you like British history, and are most interestingly told by the prime female of the time. I’d start with either The White Queen or The Queen’s Fool if you want to give her another try. I have a terrible time keeping all the kings and queens and their offspring straight but she always includes a family tree (or two), and I thoroughly enjoy her well-researched take on the times.

      Like

Leave a Reply

