Potpourri 27

The_Tudors_TV_Series-437005027-largeWell, I’m almost finished reading The King’s Curse by Philippa Gregory.  I used a snippet from it as my Teaser Tuesday this week and one of my readers asked if I had seen the TV series The Tudors.  I hadn’t. So, what with special deals on DVDs between Black Friday and Christmas, and DVD prices dropping dramatically because of Netflix, Shome, and other online streaming opportunities, I decided to pick up the series.  It should be here by week’s end and I’m really looking forward to getting it (and probably binge watching it).  I also realized that a movie had been made based on Gregory’s book The White Queen so that, too, is on its way.

Game_of_Thrones_War_is_ComingI recently picked up seasons 1 & 2 of Game of Thrones and finally started watching them, a couple of episodes a day.  I’m not sure I like it that much.  I like the Sean Bean character and his family, but I gather he gets killed off at the end of the first season, so that’s a bummer.  I like the sister of the man who thinks he should be king of the 7 kingdoms, but he’s a total creep who only accidentally did her a favour by marrying her off to a warrior with an army.  Well, I’m only 4 episodes in, so I’ll reserve judgment until I’ve watched a bit more.  At this point, I’m not sure I’ll purchase any more of the series.

DickensAdventReaderI’ve bought a rather neat copy of A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens (which I’ve never read) for ipad that has been annotated as an Advent Reader.  It’s not a long read each day and finishes with a Bible verse and a discussion question; great for a family to read together or just to read by yourself, as I’m doing.  Thanks to author/blogger P. D. Workman for the heads up about this neat read.

RossisMusivilleAnother author/blogger, Nicholas Rossis, has launched his new book, Musiville which he’s making available to read online from now until the end of the year.  This is a perfectly delightful children’s book so this is a great opportunity to preview it in its entirety to decide if your child would like it.  I’m pretty sure it will be loved by children everywhere.  So click on the title at the beginning of this paragraph, and read all about it.

I’m almost finished my review of The Underground Girls of Kabul which is probably one of the top 5 non-fiction books I’ve ever read under the category of “Most Amazing”.  And, I’ve something really neat for my Sunday Reblog but I’m not telling so you’ll have to wait and see.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Actor, Adult Book, Children's Book, Christian Book, Christmas, Musings, TV series and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Potpourri 27

  1. FictionFan says:

    Hope you enjoy A Christmas Carol – one of my favourite books. I either read it or watch or listen to one of the adaptations of it every Christmas. Sounds intriguing to do it as an advent read…

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      Yes, I’ve always enjoyed the various movie versions but I’m finding the language quite delicious and it’s interesting to see Dicken’s Christmas message paired up with biblical references. Have a great Christmas.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you so much for sharing! I’m thrilled to be included among such greats 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

