First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

fistchapFirst chapter, first two paragraphs, is a meme hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea.

I suspect that many people, despite having watched one version or another of Dickens’ A Christmas Carol every Christmas, have never actually read a copy of it, myself included.  I’ve been reading an edition by P.D. Workman that is an Annotated Advent Reader.  Here are the first two paragraphs.

Marley was dead, to begin with. There is no doubt whatever about that. The register of his burial was signed by the clergyman, the clerk, the undertaker, and the chief mourner. Scrooge signed it. And Scrooge’s name was good upon Change for anything he chose to put his hand to. Old Marley was as dead as a door-nail.

Mind! I don’t mean to say that I know, of my own knowledge, what there is particularly dead about a door-nail.  I might have been inclined, myself, to regard a coffin-nail as the deadest piece of ironmongery in the trade. But the wisdom of our ancestors is in the simile; and my unhallowed hands shall not disturb it, or the Country’s done for. You will, therefore, permit me to repeat, emphatically, that Marley was as dead as a door-nail.

TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

DickensAdventReaderOh! But he was a tight-fisted hand at the grindstone, Scrooge! A squeezing, wrenching, grasping, scraping, clutching, covetous, old sinner.   Hard and sharp as flint, from which no steel had ever struck out generous fire; secret, and self-contained, and solitary as an oyster. (2% in ebook)

One can see why Dickens is called the man who invented Christmas: his writing is quite extraordinary.  Have you read it?  It’s not too late to start it and finish by Christmas Day.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Author, Christian Book, Christmas, Opinion and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

  1. I first read this book when I was about ten and have re-read it at many a Christmas time since – a brilliant opening with writing you can’t help to get engrossed in.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Diane says:

    Love the intro and a perfect choice for December.

    Like

  3. FictionFan says:

    Isn’t his language just great?! I’m currently reading ‘Martin Chuzzlewit’ – can’t imagine Christmas without Dickens actually… 🙂

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      Exquisite. Do you recommend Martin Chuzzlewit? I had to look it up and found the word “picaresque” which I also had to look up. Sounds intriguing! Enjoyed your post this morning. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

      • FictionFan says:

        In truth, though I’m enjoying it, it wouldn’t be the first I’d recommend – that’d be Bleak House, which I think is the best book ever written! Or A Tale of Two Cities is great – and shorter. Or Nicholas Nickleby… 🙂 Thank you – glad you enjoyed it!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m ashamed to say I don’t think I’ve ever read this one! I liked the writing in the intro…I’d keep reading!

    Like

  5. I love The Christmas Carol. 🙂 It’s one of my favorite Christmas stories. I don’t read it every year, but just about every other year, I would say.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mysm2000 says:

      When I was little, we used to gather around the record player cabinet and listen to the long play albums that were housed in a huge binder with a leather cover, sort of like a photo album. We would just sit entranced. Of course, that was a bit (just a bit) before TV. So the story has been part of my Christmas almost my whole life. I can’t believe I never read it before. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  6. I haven’t read it either….but, like everyone, watched at least portions of A Christmas Carol on TV…where it is shown like a marathon on the holidays. Thanks for sharing….and my excerpt is from “HERE, HOME, HOPE”

    Like

  7. That’s such an inspired description of Scrooge! I never tire of it. Thanks for the reminder to reread this classic soon.
    My Tuesday post features Beach Trip.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      Glad you enjoyed it. I’m having such fun reading it — even more fun than watching the various movies. (The Alistair Sim one from 1951 is my favourite!) Thanks for leaving a comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

