First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: The Snow Angel by Lulu Taylor

fistchapFirst chapter, first two paragraphs, is a meme hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea.

This opening is from The Snow Angel by Lulu Taylor, the first book I’ve read by this author.

Chapter One  — Present day

‘Are you listening, Emily?’

TheSnowAngel‘Yes, yes . . . of course.” But she wasn’t even though she knew she should be. Will was talking as he drove and she was sitting next to him, thinking about Carrie.

She’ll be fine, she thought, trying to quell the uneasiness she felt. The babysitter seemed very nice and she promised to give her another dose of Calpol if she couldn’t sleep. I wish Paula had been free, though. She’s so good with Carrie.

Emily shivered a little.

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

‘I’m sorry, Emily,’ he said in a flat tone.  With one swift movement he pulled the steering wheel downwards with his left hand. . . She opened her mouth to scream but they were already off the motorway and all around them was an explosion of sound and blackness and vast movement so inexorable that she was unable to do anything but surrender to it. (p.17)

So there you have it.  Would you keep reading?  Leave a comment and a link to your Teaser Tuesday or First Chapter, First Paragraph.  Thanks for stopping by.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Blogger, Meme, Mystery, Romance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: The Snow Angel by Lulu Taylor

  1. Leaving my little ones with any babysitter is always an unsettling thought; I can identify with this teaser on so many levels. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. lemon123 says:

    I have the feeling this baby might get sick before the babysitter leaves the job. I think the dosage of the medication might play a big part. Otherwise, why is it mentioned? I like this one.

    Like

  3. Sounds like a good one.:)

    Like

  4. Ooh, so intense! I am totally drawn in. Thanks for sharing…and here’s mine: “OUT OF ORANGE”

    Like

  5. Kathy Martin says:

    Sounds intriguing. This book and author are new to me but I’m adding them to my wishlist. My teaser comes from Killing Trail by Margaret Mizushima this week. Happy reading!

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      I really liked your teaser. I’ve added it to my list. I’m not familiar with this author either but it sounds really good. Thanks for coming by and leaving a comment.

      Like

  6. sounds intriguing, thanks for sharing

    Like

  7. There’s lots of foreboding in that opening, and your Teaser gave me chills. Sounds like a page-turner.
    My Tuesday post features THE JOURNEY BACK – A Doublesight Story.

    Like

  8. P.D. Workman says:

    That definitely sounds interesting! Thanks for visiting my teaser today at http://pdworkman.com/excerpt-from-the-false-prince/

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Dagny says:

    Awww, I’m wondering what comes next.

    Mine this week: http://wp.me/pZnGI-sc

    Like

  10. ljennison says:

    Definitely would keep reading after that teaser. Here’s My Teaser

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

