Beautiful Concert in a Beautiful Church

Last night I had the privilege to attend a presentation of Handel’s Messiah that included several choirs under the leadership of maestro Uwe Lieflander, including one choir that two sons of a friend of mine were singing in, the Sparrows.  The Sparrows consist of children from pre-kindergarten to high school and while they were not in the whole performance, when they did take part, they were absolutely amazing.

2015-12-19 17.54.56Now, I love this work by Handel.  It’s probably my favourite music of all time.  I even watched a movie the night before in which a choir was practicing Messiah for their Christmas Concert.  (That’s Christmas Without Snow starring Michel Learned and John Houseman.)  So it was wonderful to hear this music in a church with incredible acoustics.  St. John the Baptist Ukrainian Catholic National Shrine was built in 1987 and while I’ve admired it from the main thoroughfare, I’ve never seen it up close or been in it.  It was absolutely breathtaking.  I took a few pictures before the performance began and have found a previous performance online to give you an opportunity to hear these wonderful choirs performing what is probably Handel’s greatest work.  I hope you’ll take some time to listen and enjoy the music and the church as we approach this special celebration we call Christmas.

StJohntheBaptistPanorama

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Music, Opinion, Photos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Beautiful Concert in a Beautiful Church

  1. Wishing you a Very Merry Christmas!

    Like

Leave a Reply

