First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: The Daughter of Time by Josephine Tey

fistchapFirst chapter, first paragraph, is a meme hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea.

Today’s excerpt is from The Daughter of Time, a classic whodunnit from Josephine Tey.

DaughterOfTimeGrant lay on his high white cot and stared at the ceiling. Stared at it with loathing. He knew by heart every last minute crack on its nice clean surface. He had made maps of the ceiling and gone exploring on them; rivers, islands, and continents. He had made guessing games of it and discovered hidden objects; faces, birds, and fishes. He had made mathematical calculations of it and rediscovered his childhood; theorems, angles, and triangles. There was practically nothing else he could do but look at it. He hated the sight of it.

TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

About Page Three you noticed that Rupert had learned from that very arch (but of course not vicious) creature George Bernard Shaw that the easiest way to sound witty was to use that cheap and convenient method, the paradox.

Would you keep reading?  Share a teaser from your current read!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Author, Meme, Mystery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: The Daughter of Time by Josephine Tey

  1. Diane says:

    Gee, I liked that a lot, I’d keep reading.

    Like

  2. proxyfish says:

    Love that teaser – and of course if George Bernard Shaw gets a mention…!😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kay says:

    I’ve meant to read a Tey book for such a long time. Her writing is classic. I like the teaser!

    Like

  4. fuonlyknew says:

    He mentions a high cot. Is he in an institution or on a ship. Sounds like he can’t leave. A very powerful description too. Sounds good.

    Thanks for visiting my teaser and Happy New Year!

    Like

  5. Suzie Quint says:

    I’d keep reading. I like characters who feel strong emotions.

    Like

  6. Beth F says:

    Hummm, I’m on the fence. I’d have to read a little more before I decided.

    Like

  7. The opening definitely made me want to know more. Is he in prison? in the hospital? Why does he hate it so much?
    My Tuesday post features JEWEL.

    Like

  8. Greg Hill says:

    Interesting, I would want to know more.🙂

    Like

  9. Dagny says:

    I read that book a number of years ago and can still remember how much I enjoyed it.

    Like

  10. I’ve been really wanting to read something by Josephine Tey. I do love the mystery classics! And I really like the opening and teaser you shared.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      Thanks. I wasn’t very far into the book when I chose the teaser and since then I’ve found so many that I like better. I can’t wait to finish and do my review. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

