Potpourri 29

hiteQueenMovieWell, things have been hectic since Christmas, although I’m sure it’s supposed to be the other way around.  I’ve finished the five Alex Rider books I had in a boxed set, read several more books to do with Henry VIII, and watched several movies including the Tudor television series.  I picked up the movie The White Queen based on a book by Philippa Gregory and a documentary called The Wars of the Roses: A Bloody Crown.

100MenChangedAbout a year ago, I read and wrote about a TimeLife book called 100 Women Who Changed the World.  It has actually been the most popular post I’ve written to date.  This past week, I’ve discovered a new TimeLife book called 100 People Who Changed the World.  Some of the people will obviously be ones from the earlier book but I’m interested in seeing which ones have been left out to make room for the men which according to the cover, include Mahatma Gandhi, Steve Jobs, Nelson Mandela, Abraham Lincoln, the Beatles, and Hitler.

BibleHistoryMy Bible study group at church is studying Abraham this semester and I’ve discovered a wonderful book called The Bible As History by Werner Keller which has a great chapter about how excavations in 1933 led to the discovery of the location of Haran where Abraham lived with his family until Genesis 12 when God told Abraham to leave his family and go to a land that He would show him.  It’s told in very readable fashion and has lots of great sketches and photos to go with documentation of archaeological finds.

I’m reading a great thick book by Margaret George, Mary Called Magdalene.  George is the author of Helen of Troy, which I enjoyed very much and so far her book about Mary is equally engaging.

TruthAndDutyI’ve obtained a copy of Truth and Duty, the Mary Mapes book that the movie starring Robert Redford and Cate Blanchette and hope to get into that soon, although my TBR list is getting longer no matter how many books I read.  I’ve also picked up the book by our new prime minister, Justin Trudeau, Common Ground which I’m looking forward to immensely.  Another book I’ve picked up is Six of Crows which I’ve heard great things about.

I’m going to be on the road for the next week so I may not be posting daily but I’ll do my best.  I’ll certainly be reading along the way.

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Adventure, Biography, Drama, Historical Fiction, Memoir, Movie, Musings, Mystery, Young People and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

