First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

fistchapFirst chapter, first paragraph, is a meme hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea.

My current read (one of two, actually — something I don’t normally do) is Anthony Doerr‘s Pulitzer Prize-winning book, All the Light We Cannot See.  Here’s the way the book begins:

Zero  —  7 August 1944

Leaflets

AllTheLightWeCannotSeeAt dusk they pour from the sky. They blow across the ramparts, turn cartwheels over rooftops, flutter into the ravines between houses. Entire streets swirl with them, flashing white against the cobbles.  Urgent message to the inhabitants of this town, they say. Depart immediately to open country.

The tide climbs. The moon hangs small and yellow and gibbous. On the rooftops of beachfront hotels to the east, and in the gardens behind them, a half dozen American artillery units drop incendiary rounds into the mouths of mortars.

TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Here are my teasers from the same book, All the Light We Cannot See:

In a corner of the city, inside a tall, narrow house at Number 4 rue Vauborel, on the sixth and highest floor, a sightless sixteen-year-old named Marie-Laure LeBlanc kneels over a low table covered entirely with a model.  (p.5)

Something rattling softly, very close. She eases open the left-hand shutter and runs her fingers up the slats of the right. A sheet of paper has lodged there.  (p.6)

I have no idea what is going to happen but it certainly has my attention.  What’s your current read?  Share a teaser!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr

  1. Diane says:

    Liked the intro a lot and yes, this is one I’ve meant to read since it was first released.

    Like

  2. I have this book, but haven’t gotten to it yet. I like the way it starts. I think I need to get to this soon.

    Like

  3. I’ve borrowed this book from the library twice now, but didn’t get a chance to read it either time. Let’s hope that doesn’t happen the third time! Enjoy 🙂

    Like

  4. thelibromaniac says:

    I’ve been hearing of this book for a while. Good to know it has such an intriguing opening! Definitely going to read it now.

    My First Chapter First Paragraph Tuesday Post

    Like

  5. Loved this book. It made my favorite list.

    Like

  6. The book’s opening really grabbed me. Great description. I’ve seen this book around a whole lot and have been curious about it.
    Thank you for leaving a comment on my blog today.
    Sandy @ TEXAS TWANG

    Like

  7. Very nice teaser! I am intrigued! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Katie says:

    Really gripping intro and teaser! This will now be added to my always growing TBR!
    My Teaser Tuesday post:
    https://katiesjumbledthoughts.wordpress.com/2016/02/02/teaser-tuesday-222016/

    Like

  9. Kathy Martin says:

    Sounds good. I hope you enjoy it. Happy reading!

    Like

  10. Wow! I’ve been noticing this book around, but the powerful excerpts have reeled me in. Thanks for sharing! And thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

