First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: The Jazz Files by Fiona Veitch Smith

fistchapFirst chapter, first paragraph, is a meme hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea.

I just finished reading The Jazz Files but didn’t have a chance earlier to give you the first paragraph and teaser, so I’m doing it now.  If you want to read my full review, it’s here.  Here is the first paragraph:

TheJazzFiles5 November 1913

A scattering of snow lay across the railway yard, transforming the industrial clutter into a picture postcard: a work of art that could be hung for a night but removed when light and sanity returned. A woman, whose skeletal frame was wrapped in a coat that had once been worn to Royal Ascot and a silk scarf that had graced the owner’s neck at a reception at Windsor Castle, picked her way from sleeper to sleeper. She hoped to reach the commuter station at Slough before the snow soaked through her kidskin shoes and her frozen fingers lost all feeling.

TeaserTuesdays-ADailyRhythm3-300x203Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!  First sentence:

If she’d known then that she would be kept in the same clothes for the whole of her three-month sentence she would have worn something more appropriate on the day she joined her sisters to firebomb the members’ stand at Lord’s (1%)

Second sentence:

This was not the first time she had seen a dead body — she had helped her mother at a military convalescent home during the war, and she had seen her fair share of dead, dying and grotesquely mutilated men; but it was the first time someone had literally dropped dead in front of her. (19%)

Would you keep reading?  What is your current read?  Share a teaser!

 

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Opinion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to First Chapter, First Paragraph & Teaser Tuesday: The Jazz Files by Fiona Veitch Smith

  1. Katie says:

    Great teaser! I would definitely keep reading!

    Like

  2. ljennison says:

    Interesting teasers. I’d keep reading. That’s an interesting time period too.

    Like

  3. Alice Audrey says:

    What an intriguing book. It’s not every day you would expect that kind of lady to do something so radical.

    Great teaser.

    Like

    • mysm2000 says:

      Yeah. When I think back over what I’ve learned over the years about the suffragettes in Britain, I think it was mostly upper class people involved in that movement. And they were very radical. There was a movie at the theatres recently that I didn’t get to see so I hope it’ll be online soon. Thanks for coming by and leaving a comment.

      Like

  4. I can feel just how cold she is with all the snow we have in OH! I’d keep reading!

    Thanks for coming by mine today from The Passenger by Lisa Lutz

    Like

  5. This looks really intriguing. I’d keep reading!

    Like

  6. Kay says:

    I like the sound of this one and will make note of the title. 🙂

    Like

  7. Dagny says:

    I love series mysteries! I’m going to watch for these.
    Mine this week is also an historical series mystery but with the supernatural (vampires) thrown in. Looks like more of an espionage/thriller than a murder mystery though. Traveling with the Dead (James Asher #2) by Barbara Hambly at http://wp.me/pZnGI-tu

    Like

  8. Yvo says:

    I’ve seen the Jazz Files around before, it sounds like an interesting read from what I can see from the blurb and teasers.

    Happy reading! Here’s my teaser of All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mysm2000 says:

      Oh, I’m reading All the Light as well. I have to keep stopping to read a mystery for my regular Monday meme Mystery Monday. I’m about 1/4 of the way through and just love it so much. I’ll look forward to reading your review of it. I’ll check out your teaser. Thanks for coming by.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I am intrigued…and I love the cover, too. This story has hidden depths, I am sure. Thanks for sharing…and here’s mine: “THE SHADOW YEAR”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

