Potpourri 30

AllTheLightWeCannotSeeBetween renovating my bathroom and back troubles, I’ve been having difficulty keeping up with my reading lately.  I’m reading a wonderful historical fiction novel (it won the Pulitzer) by Anthony Doerr called All The Light We Cannot See but have to keep leaving it to do a mystery for my regular Mystery Monday meme.  I’m only about a quarter of the way through and, because I read it in bed at night, I’m losing sleep.  I love the prose and the two main characters, who I know from the beginning must connect at some point, as Doerr develops their diverse backgrounds which are now starting to intersect in subtle ways.  I’m just going to have to hurry the renovations so I can binge read this one.

SecretDaughterOnce I finish Doerr’s book, I must get on with Shilpi Somaya Gowda‘s book Secret Daughter which I read just enough of to use for Teaser Tuesday last week.  It has really captured my imagination but I won’t finish anything if I skip back and forth, so it has to wait in line.

9780310984177In my attempts to downsize, I came across a book I must have had for a while but have never read.  It’s called Blessings & Promises through the Eyes of Women of the Bible and it’s by Ann Spangler & Jean E. Syswerda.  I’m using it for my morning devotions and am really enjoying it.  There are only 25 women in the book so it’s not quite enough for a full month (not even February) unless you skip Sundays.  From Eve to the Widow with Two Coins, each little chapter follows a pattern:  the woman’s name and it’s meaning, the story as told in the Bible, the woman’s character, her sorrow, and her joy, then a fictionalized account of her story, how God blessed her, and some relevant verses from the Bible.  In some cases, for instance Lot’s wife (whose name we never learn), instead of her sorrow and joy, we have her tragedy.  While many of the women will be very familiar, some are relatively obscure or nameless, like the widow with two coins from the New Testament, but each has a story that shows God’s grace and the fulfillment of His promises.  It’s being a real blessing to me as I work my way through.

AbrahamSwindollIn connection with a women’s Bible study this winter/spring semester at my church, I’m reading a bit each week from Chuck Swindoll‘s Abraham: One Nomad’s Amazing Journey of Faith which is listed as one of the resources used by the teachers in our study.  From this and other books I’ve been reading, I’m learning what a common mistake people have made throughout the centuries — that of not waiting on God.  When will we finally learn that His timing is perfect and He doesn’t need us to try to hurry things along?  What amazing gifts He provides in His own time.  This book is a study in itself and I’m certainly learning a lot from it.

ButterflyEnigmaI’ve picked up 4 ebooks in the past week and I’m anxious to get to each of them:  McIlvanney‘s Docherty, The Butterfly Enigma, Girl in Hyacinth Blue and Reliving the Passion by Walter Wangerin Jr.  It is almost March and Easter is early this year — it follows right after March Break — so I want to get to that last one before Easter arrives.  And The Girl in Hyacinth Blue is based on a secret Vermeer painting that the story traces from its inspiration and inception, through each owner until it comes into the possession of a professor who has finally shared his secret with a colleague.  I love books that bring stories to light through paintings.

FlowersForAlgernonLast week I also purchased a couple of paperbacks: a comfort read in a set I’m reading by Susanna Gregory that takes place in the Restoration period of England, the 10th Thomas Chaloner adventure called The Cheapside Corpse, and a novel based on an incredibly intriguing concept that parallel experiences happen to a man and a mouse in an experiment, Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes.

These are only a few of the books on my TBR list (a mental list, not an actual list), so I have many hours of wonderful reading ahead of me.  I hope to be sharing reviews of some of these books with you sooner rather than later.  Happy reading!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Adventure, Christian Book, fiction, Historical Fiction, Musings, Mystery, Spiritual Growth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Potpourri 30

  1. Jay E. says:

    I liked All the Light We Cannot See very much. One of the few books I’ve borrowed from the library and put on my “to be purchased” list.

    Like

  2. FictionFan says:

    Oh, I do hope you enjoy Docherty – I’ve become a huge McIlvanney fan over the last couple of years, and I really enjoyed this one.

    Like

  3. Like you I am behind in my reading. Instead of reading I am playing around my pictures instead of reading one of the four I need to read. THAN THERE WERE NUNS by Kylie Logan
    MURDER MOST WHOLESOME by Staci McLaughlin
    MURDER UNDER A SILVER PLATTER by Shawn Reilly Simmons
    KILLER DOLPHIN by Ngaio Marsh

    Like

Leave a Reply

