BOOK REVIEW: The Hobbit – by J.R.R. Tolkien

BilboBagginsI’ve not read the J.R.R. Tolkien books and I think I’ve only watched one of the Lord of the Rings movies but Yvo’s review of The Hobbit (which I may have read years ago in university) has reminded me that it’s about time I made a start at it. Whether you, too, have been remiss at reading this literary giant or are a fan of the movies or not, perhaps you, too, should grab one of his books and spend some time “escaping” into the world of Bilbo Baggins. Enjoy my Sunday reblog!

It's All About Books

brthehobbitTitle: The Hobbit
Author: J.R.R. Tolkien
Genre: Fantasy, Fiction, Adventure
First published: September 21st 1937
Finished reading: April 29th 2013
Pages: 388
Rating 4qqq

“There is nothing like looking, if you want to find something. You certainly usually find something, if you look, but it is not always quite the something you were after.”

myrambles1reviewqqq

I only first found out that The Hobbit existed AFTER I finished reading The Lord Of The Rings trilogy as a teenager… Which is a shame, since The Hobbit is considered to be the prequel story to the series. That said,  I think I actually like this novel better than the other books. One of the (minor) problems I had with the other books is that the pace is so slow because of the many descriptions (although they are necessary for the more than excellent worldbuilding in all J.R.R. Tolkien‘s books). I didn’t have that feeling of…

View original post 294 more words

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Author, Fantasy, Fantasy, Movie, Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to BOOK REVIEW: The Hobbit – by J.R.R. Tolkien

  1. Dagny says:

    Oh, yes, The Hobbit is wonderful! Such fun. After that I was rather disappointed in the trilogy. The Fellowship of the Ring was good and held my interest, but it must have taken me a year to make it through the second book. Fortunately the final book was better, but none of them compare to The Hobbit for me.

    Like

  2. Annika Perry says:

    You haven’t read ‘The Hobbit’. No more excuses! Start now!! Great read and I enjoyed the Lord of Rings series. I haven’t watched any of the films – I don’t want my imagination and its images of the books ruined!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

