#Weekend Coffee Share March 5th, 2016

This is my first time participating in Coffee Share, hosted by parttimemonster.com but I’ve enjoyed reading the posts by others who are part of this popular meme.

CoffeeShare

I don’t actually drink coffee but I’ll gladly make a cup for you, or a tea of your favourite flavour, or, a special favourite of mine — hot chocolate with tiny marshmallows in it, particularly enjoyable today since we are beyond knee-deep in snow still.  Although, there is some hope for us here in Ottawa, Canada, as March came in roaring like a lion but we have now enjoyed 3 beautiful, sunshiny days.

LibraryNookLet me take your coat and while you’re taking off your boots, I’ll bring our drinks with some sweets out to the small table for two in my front bay window, part of my library nook.

As we’re enjoying our drinks, I’d have to admit to you that I haven’t been reading as much as I’d like lately as I’ve been renovating my ensuite bathroom.  However, the end is in sight, and while I have a few more items on my fix-up or paint list, this bathroom project was probably the most difficult of the lot so I’m excited that it’s almost finished.  A bit of caulking, a bit of touch-up painting, and I can put the shelf rack back in and give a sigh of relief.

I am reading a book about Abraham based on his story in Genesis, as well as a book for BookLookBloggers by Debra Clopton called Kissed by a Cowboy.  This is the third in the Four of Hearts Ranch Romance series.  I suspect it will be the last because there are only three brothers and the first two books saw them married off; now it’s Jarrod’s turn.  Not much suspense, but a lot of fun and surprises.  Clopton writes Christian books so they’re about people getting their lives together and you won’t find anything too steamy going on.

TheStoryOfJesusAs you’re sipping your drink and browsing my bookshelves, I’d tell you about a really great movie I saw last week called Risen.  It’s the crucifixion/resurrection story as seen through the eyes of a Roman centurion.  It was quite violent at the start, and there were one or two things I didn’t feel were quite accurate, but overall, it was a compelling and believable story, well acted, and with some breath-taking scenery.  There is another movie coming out next week called The Young Messiah.  I’ve seen the trailer and the movie looks really interesting.  It begins the story when Jesus is twelve and is leaving Egypt with His parents to return to Nazareth.  I can’t remember when I’ve seen so many apt movies and books coming out front and centre with the Easter theme.  Yesterday I picked up another Time Inc. Specials magazine by National Geographic called The Story of Jesus.  I think I’m going to really enjoy it because it includes a lot of information discovered through archaeological findings.  I’ll write about it on my blog, probably next week.

SuffragetteI’d probably tell you about the movie Suffragette that I watched the other night.  I found it a very powerful portrayal of women who faced ridicule, prison, and even death challenging the patriarchal system in Britain where women were nothing more than chattels of their husbands and had no rights to home or children, let alone the right to vote.  It finally took a death before world attention focused on what was going on in England, and things slowly began to change, first in Britain, then in North America, and eventually to many countries around the world.  Sadly, there are still countries where women are trapped in a culture where they are not valued and have no rights or freedoms.  These women suffragettes were truly heroes.

If we were having coffee (or tea), I’d probably ask you what you’ve been doing, and reading, and watching because I get a lot of good ideas from you about books I’d like to read, and movies that I’ve never seen (or sometimes never even heard of) that really appeal to me.

SnowyBackYardFinally I would wish you a great week, and good reading as you put on your winter trappings and prepare to leave.  I’d show you the piles of snow on my deck in my backyard.  I’m so glad you stopped by.  I hope I’ll see you again next week!

About mysm2000

Having taught elementary school for more than 25 years and been involved in many amazing technology and curriculum projects, I find I've developed a myriad of interests based on literature I've read and music I've heard. I've followed The Wright Three to Chicago, Ansel Adams to Colorado, The Kon Tiki Expedition to Easter Island, Simon & Garfunkel lyrics to New York City, Frank Lloyd Wright to Fallingwater, Pennsylvania, and have only just begun.
This entry was posted in Adult Book, Christian, Drama, Meme, Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #Weekend Coffee Share March 5th, 2016

  1. Cathy says:

    Thanks, I really enjoyed that and hope you’re pleased with your bathroom. I haven’t seen Suffragette although I intend to watch it on DVD in due course but I agree with what you said about it. It worries me that after all their efforts so many people don’t exercise their right to vote these days, especially younger voters.

    Like

  2. Candid Cover says:

    This is such a wonderful idea for a post! As I am drinking my coffee, I am loving your stories and updates. I hope that your renovations are nearing completion. ❤

    Like

  3. Colline says:

    We missed the piles of snow here in Toronto as the storm swept past. The amount of snow we got was minimal compared to yours.
    Your reading nook is gorgeous and I would love sitting there chatting over a cup of hot chocolate 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. A good post and I enjoyed reading it. I don’t see on the link post. There are a number already there this morning. I just added my post to it. Do you know how? I had problems at first but I finally learned how.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mysm2000 says:

      I can probably do it but today just did it at yours and one other blogger I follow who participates. I’m too swamped right now to have a lot of links to follow. It’s on my Twitter so that will have to do for today. Thanks for the offer.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

